The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   First UDS Build (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=143393)

Sampler 09-06-2012 02:42 PM

First UDS Build

Hello all,

I'm a newbie and have just begun the process of process of collecting the materials to build my first UDS. If things go in the right direction by the end of this coming weekend I should have everything I need and a start on the build process.

I have been doing a lot of reading and reviewing the many threads of the subject which have driven my excitement. I look forward to someday being able to participate in sharing my own UDS and some of the delicious items to come off from it.

I'll post from pics of my build as things get started. Wish me luck!

Dana

Nemo 09-06-2012 03:29 PM

Good luck! I built my first this spring and except for one sad bone-in pork butt (terrible!), it has been fabulous to use. Steady temps and light on charcoal use.

Foxfire 09-06-2012 04:57 PM

congrats! Gonna post build pix?? :icon_cool

Sampler 09-06-2012 05:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nemo (Post 2203261)
Steady temps and light on charcoal use.

Is there a general rule of thumb as to how much charcoal/wood to use depending on desired temp and length of cook time?

D

Sampler 09-06-2012 05:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foxfire (Post 2203322)
congrats! Gonna post build pix?? :icon_cool

Thank you.... and most definitely!!!

Johnny_Crunch 09-06-2012 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sampler (Post 2203346)
Is there a general rule of thumb as to how much charcoal/wood to use depending on desired temp and length of cook time?

D

I fill my basket to the top every time regardless of how long I am cooking. It snuffs out so well when closed that I can reuse coals with no worries.

Captain Dave 09-06-2012 07:05 PM