Burnt ends

Grizzly6

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Smoked a 14lbs packer brisket this weekend on my UDS. Rained like a monster at about 8 hours in and messed with the cooker so I had to baby it to the finish. (not happy about that) the meat was a little on the tough side, but it had some decent flavor. I cut the point off and cubed up the burnt ends an put them in 8x8 pans for the burnt end portion. Cover the ends in a three pigs cherry rub and poured some red ale on top... this is where it went wrong. The beer was way to hoppy and dominated the flavor profile. Don't get me wrong the ends to not suck, however they could definately be better.

I have read through some other threads on the burnt ends, but what do you guys do to make them awesome? I love good burnt ends and want to learn how not ruin $40 worth of meat.

I only cooked one brisket so far so I am no expert. I cubed mine and used a 50/50 mix of the au jus sauce from the foil it cooked in mixed with BBQ sauce. To me that much bbq sauce overwhelmed it. I have seen or read that Myron normally just used the juices from the cook poured over his burnt ends, and I think that is what I will do next time, cube them and pour in the drippings. For beef I love the juices, whatever juices I get out of a steak goes in a bowl for each bite to be dipped, so I think the burnt ends would be perfect just in the juices it created, which are nicely seasoned from the the meat and rub you used.

Yep it's true. Most people if they're gonna sauce them or add anything that isn't their own juices simply add SOME BBQ sauce, but for me I typically just cube it up, add some rub, and add its own juices back in. I'll leave the sauce for application onto the sandwich if that's what they're going to be used as. My wife loathes BBQ sauce, but slathers mustard on burnt ends, I like sauce in severe moderation, and my kids love bathing stuff in BBQ sauce.