WSM comp cooks

Sledneck

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
For those of you that cook exclusively on wsm's in competition what is your preferred combination ? (3) 18's. (2). 22's. (2) 22 and (1) 18. Etc

Also what do you use for what, one for briskets one for butts etc

2-22s and 1-18

Pork butts get the 18; ribs get a 22, brisky gets the other 22; the chicken gets the 22 once the brisky is done. This is my first year cooking on WSMs as you know.

I cook on 2 - 22 WSMs and a 22 performer. One 22 wsm is for brisket only, the other is for ribs and pork butts. The performer is for chicken although i sometimes put chicken on one of the 22 WSMs. I mainly separate the two 22's because i put different smoking woods for brisket and for pork so i like seasoning the pits individually with those woods. Whether it really makes send or not, I'm not sure but it makes me feel better...ha ha

I did one KCBS comp on a single 22.5" wsm. Took 1st in ribs, 5th in chicken 19th in pork out of 41 and finished 11th overall.

This is my first year cooking on WSMs as you know.
I drecall the day you made that decision. Twas about 6:30 on turn in day and muzzlolos damn fec crapped out over night and my briskies were under 100. Then like a superhero I pulled that little black cooker out of my van, threw those briskets on and low and behold a 3rd place brisket:becky:

We use a 22.5 WSM for brisket and chicken, and an 18 for butts and ribs. I usually bring along an 18.5 kettle for cooking dinner, and occaision use getting color on ribs, etc.

3 WSMs -- one for brisket, one for ribs, one for pork shoulder. And a 50s era Weber kettle for chicken.

We use 3 18s. 1 for butts and 1 for briskets lit on Friday. Fire up the 3rd for ribs on Saturday, move them to the emptied pork pit when they are wrapped in foil, and then that pit hosts chicken. We move them because we run that 1 at 275 instead of 225 and then jump it to 300 for the chicken.