The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Competition BBQ (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   sorry, im ignorant to comps...but (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=145870)

HickoryJ 10-12-2012 03:29 PM

sorry, im ignorant to comps...but

is the meat provided? or do u bring your own? i guess im talking kcbs. i took a glance at the rules and seen there is a meat inspector...but that could work for both. once again, sorry im a noob to comps.

hamiltont 10-12-2012 03:31 PM

BYO, and most bring more than needed JIC...

Swamp Donkeyz BBQ 10-12-2012 03:35 PM

ALWAYS bring extra. If you don't you will wish you had, at some point.

HickoryJ 10-12-2012 03:35 PM

so the inspector comes around to each site and check the meat? what are they looking for exactly?

Swamp Donkeyz BBQ 10-12-2012 03:37 PM

Making sure that you didn't bring anything that has been marinated or had anything done to it that could be considered cheaqting. It is an attempt to help level the playing field.

hamiltont 10-12-2012 03:40 PM

You can prep your meat before arriving by trimming it, scraping the chicken skin, stuff like that. You can't put any seasoning, brine or injection in or on the meat until after it's inspected, basically....

Swamp Donkeyz BBQ 10-12-2012 03:47 PM

You can not remove the meat from the original packaging until it has been inspected. No trimming, seasoning, brining, etc.

HickoryJ 10-12-2012 03:48 PM

thats what i thought. im gonna try to get in some comps next yr. but to be honest...i dont have much experience with chicken or ribs. those 2 categories ill be weak in for sure. it is pork, brisket, ribs and chicken right?

speers90 10-12-2012 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Swamp Donkeyz BBQ (Post 2241837)
You can not remove the meat from the original packaging until it has been inspected. No trimming, seasoning, brining, etc.