The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   UH-OH, I think I messed up... (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=79129)

CUTigerQ 02-24-2010 08:46 PM

UH-OH, I think I messed up...

I took some pulled pork that I cooked this past weekend and shared it with some guys at work. They LOVED it and want me to start doing this on a regular basis. They said they would pay me. One of my friends there is practically begging me to cater to the people at my job maybe once per week. About 150 people total. Other people have said that would love to buy some Q from me and have asked if I can do chicken, etc. Said that they would pay well for it. :shock::icon_bugeyed

Now, my problem is, Im new to this whole thing and have no clue what to do here. Should I do this? I have a ton of questions about it. AND I only have the one UDS. I know nothing about "catering" or cooking for the masses.

I will admit, though, that it is pretty cool to have people like my food enough to want to buy it.

MilitantSquatter 02-24-2010 08:53 PM

Congrats on people enjoying your food.. that's great !!

As to what they say they want and what they actually do are two different things. You need to validate this.. Every week they want BBQ for 150 people ? How much are they really willing to pay ? Are they expecting to just cover costs without you making a realistic profit ?

One UDS is not going to cut it and you don't want to invest time in building multiple drums or buying a large pit for something that doesn't pan out longer term or you find that it's too much for you or starts to feel more like work than fun.

The members here with catering experience will be better able to give you better insight into what it's really like on a recurring basis.

CUTigerQ 02-24-2010 09:27 PM