CBJ class Arthur Illinois

S

Smokin Diablo

I have been a competition cook for 4 years and finally decided it was time for me to see what the judges are looking for, that was my # 1 goal for the class, I ended up getting much much more. I attended the CBJ class in Arthur Illinois on March 7th, Mike Lake was our instructor and let me say that I thought his knowledge and teaching technique was excellent. Of course this is coming from a 1st timer, but you have to respect Mike's status and experience in the KCBS. I very much appreciated the time, detail, and his ability to directly involve the students in his class. I would also like to thank George Fritz and the CIBR group for putting on the class for us ILFO's.
Now on to some of my questions and observations.
  • My first observation was that the class of 26 or so was split pretty much 50% competition teams and 50% people that had never seen or tasted competition BBQ.
  • My next observation was that the turn in boxes I was judging were something I would not turn in to a judge. I did not see or taste one box that was at a competition level turn in. To me that does not give the nubie CBJ's anything to be prepared for. The boxes were bare, thrown together, most not sauced, and hardly any of the pieces in any box were uniform. I just didn't think it was fair to the nubies. maybe even some pictures of real competition turn ins would have given them some idea of what they were in for.
  • The information I learned on ribs, brisket, and pork was worth every minuet and $ I spent.
  • The KCBS does not compare BBQ from one to the other. Each turn in is judged on its own merit
  • There is a new scorecard this year that provides the judges more direct corolation between the number they are marking and the meaning of that number. 2 = inedible , 5 = below average, 7 above average, ect........