The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   My First Smoke... Ever (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68136)

B3 09-02-2009 11:25 AM

My First Smoke... Ever

I've been lurking on these forums for quite some time and joined up a few days ago because I was fortunate enough to receive a small Brinkmann Smoke 'N Grill as a gift. I'm completely new to smoking and my only grilling experience has been on a gasser, so I need as much fundamental advice as I can get (having never cooked with charcoal).

I plan on giving the SnG it's first run this weekend with a Boston butt. Nothing else. I want to keep it simple. I've got a 12# bag of Kingsford Comp. Briquets, wood chips, and the butt. What else should do I need to know?

I'm aware there is plenty to learn over time, but I'm basically trying to avoid being blindsided by the unkown (by me).

Thanks in advance, and count another voice to the many who already praise this community. It's great!

landarc 09-02-2009 11:38 AM

First thing I would do is search out the blue smoke thread, Get the smoke right and a lot of the rest will fall into place. I would also bear in mind, doing a butt right takes time, cannot be rushed. The old saying is 'it will be done when it is done' is very true.

Markbb 09-02-2009 12:21 PM

I had a brinkman and wore that thing out....it'll smoke but the only bad is the ash and air problem and its hard to maintain a constent temp. but all in all it's a good little smoker to cut your teeth on..

B3 09-02-2009 12:54 PM

Ok, so I want "blue and few." I'll be sure to pay attention to that.

I don't plan on rushing through the cook. Because of that, one concern I have is the coal though. How much should I expect to use?

moda253 09-02-2009 01:05 PM

I bouthg an ECB and used it twice and I'm going to take that nugget to the dump this weekend.