The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Competition BBQ (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   What should I know about competing? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=169261)

Rusty Kettle 08-23-2013 12:42 AM

What should I know about competing?

I am going to be competing probably this coming year. I have never done any competition before and well I am not sure where to start. What do you do to plan for a competition? Whats a good basic checklist of what I need to bring? Anything you think would be helpful would be greatly appreciated. I have no idea what I am doing other than cooking. What should I expect it be like. Any tips? Thanks

Icekub 08-23-2013 12:53 AM

Start here: http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=13677

Rusty Kettle 08-23-2013 02:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Icekub (Post 2598784)

Thank-You I have read everything that was linked and I am sure I will sit down and read it all over a few times.

Lake Dogs 08-23-2013 06:46 AM

Do it for the enjoyment of the competition. Have fun. Know that it is a hobby, even for the "Pro" folks, because very few (you can probably count these folks on a couple of fingers) make enough to actually pay the light bills and the mortgage payment consistently. The "Pro" folks are just more involved hobbyists...

Know there is no 1 type of BBQ contest. There are sanctioned contests and unsanctioned contests. Of the sanctioned contests, there are many sanctioning bodies that have different standards, different meats to cook, different definitions of the perfect BBQ, different judging criteria, different judges training, etc. etc. And the unsanctioned contests; anything goes for the most part. Just know that what works at say your local rib contest may or may not work in a KCBS sanctioned contest, and that may or may not work in a NEBS or GBA or FBA or MBN, etc. contest.