The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   OK so this plateau thing? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=78264)

stepheneleven 02-12-2010 11:13 PM

OK so this plateau thing?

So I put a small 5.5 lb bone-in pork shoulder on the new WSM at about noon and it's now 11pm. For the last 4 hours I've been getting temps between 165 & 175. It's actually down to 170 at the moment. I've kept steady temps in the smoker all day(around 250). When the heck is this thing gonna break? I was told that the cook would be around 8 hours for a cut this big. It's going on 11 hours now. Once this starts going, how long is it gonna be, my guests have gone home and I'm getting sleepy. Luckily the small brisket I put on just for fun turned out pretty well and was a big hit. Is this normal? I'm a noob. First smoke ever.

stepheneleven 02-12-2010 11:18 PM

Actually it's been in that range for over 5 hours, I did my math wrong.

landarc 02-12-2010 11:18 PM

It is not normal, but, it is possible. The other thing I can suggest, go poke a metal skewer or thermometer probe and see if it goes in like butter. Sometimes the temp just doesnt break. You want it to feel like butter

stepheneleven 02-12-2010 11:24 PM

It is pretty soft and does look like it might be starting to fall apart. But like I said this the first I've done of these so I'm not sure what the finished product is supposed be like exactly. Plus it's really dark out so it's kinda hard to tell. I think I'll just wait til midnight and take it off no matter what and wrap it. Thanks for the reply.

snoqualmiesmoker 02-12-2010 11:37 PM

I had a 5 lb one from Safeway take 19 hours to get to 195. Sometimes it takes FOREVER.

Other times it is quick.

This is a good time to get used to having a cooler and hot towels to hold your meat. That way the meat is done long before you need it.