certified kitchen search

Garth57

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
I've been looking for a certified kitchen to use for food prep, etc. I found one for $40/hr with fridge space that would be allocated to me. They will also give me a key so I can pick up food before my Sat morning market I do. Does that sound in line? I have tried American legion, churches, Lions Club, etc to no avail.

I would think that price would about kill any profit?

After food, supplies, etc are you even making that much?

Are you using it just for storage or prepping and cooking?

storage, prepping, cooking. Yes, it does kill profits.

Well this is my first year catering and that would have sunk me the first month alone.

Hate to say it, but that's about the going rate here, too- I was quoted $50/hr. for the same kind of situation, but WITHOUT overnight food storage. Sure changes your overhead! :eek:/

Just had a meeting with my HD yesterday. Since the meat is prepped in my trailer I can store what small dry items I have in my home in a designated pantry/closet/cabinet. I'll prep and load/unload smoker from the inside of my trailer so they were fine with it. Here's a pic of my interior.

30673_1440887351640_1516743286_1064117_4414846_n.jpg

Dude go to james and get a trailer. i did and its certified by the health dept. the only thing i have in my trailer is a 3 bay, handwash, prep table and refrigeration. Nothing else is needed. I smoke everything that i sell and dont need anything other than what i have. Its an 8x16 with a 4 foot porch as is capable of pumping out some serious food. Ive got guys with trailers twice the size of mine and sell the same amount. All you need is a couple of electric warmers and a cambro and you'll be fine. Im not sure of how much food you unload at these markets but i bet you could do it out of a small concession trailer without much money laid out.

James is RICH!!!! either that or the guy who built and designed it gave him a really good deal:-D