The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   First BBQ - Need Help (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=154272)

bigfredlab 02-19-2013 09:10 PM

First BBQ - Need Help

I'm new to the forum. I have lots of experience in Grilling, but over the weekend I made my first step into the land of the Q.

I bought a Outdoor Leisure Smoke Hollow vertical smoker and christened it by smoking some pork. However, it only came out OK (edible but not great). I understand it takes time to master the art form, so I would like to learn from my 'mistakes'.

I made a 4.25lb pork shoulder that had been brined in an apple cider brine. I smoked it for just over 6 hours at approx. 210 degF using wiskey oak wood chips. The outside 1/2 inch was OK, but the middle was cooked, but not falling apart good.

I also made pork short ribs that were cooked for about 3 hours at 210 deg. They came out tasty, but tough.

Both were mopped with a apple cider and oil mop every hour.

What can I do to achieve 'fall apart' pork?
What mistakes did I make?

Thanks,
Big Fred

Offthehook 02-19-2013 09:11 PM

210 is too low of temp for starters and 6 hours isn't long enough to get it tender. I would get the BBQ at least up to 250.

Offthehook 02-19-2013 09:14 PM

Also cook it until probe tender and take it to close to 195 sometimes.

Bluesman 02-19-2013 09:16 PM

Hey Big Fred and welcome. To get some good pork, follow some real basic rules.

1.) Lose the brine and mop sauce
2.) Cook at 225*-275* you choose. Lower heat longer time, really doesn't change the outcome
3.) Cook until a wooden skewer probes through everywhere like a hot knife through butter. Forget about tempurature. Also forget about time. Pork is like a new baby, they'll come out when they are ready.
4.) No sauce, NONE, NADDA......get a nice cheap bun, and pile that pulled goodness on there and enjoy