Turn in boxes at Cape BBQ Fest.

S

slat

Here they are. Brisket, Chicken, Pork and Ribs.
Feel free to make comments or pointers.

Attachments

• Brisket Box 640.jpg
    Brisket Box 640.jpg
    214.7 KB · Views: 143
  • Chicken Box 640.jpg
    Chicken Box 640.jpg
    223.7 KB · Views: 143
  • Pork Box 640.jpg
    Pork Box 640.jpg
    239.4 KB · Views: 144
  • Rib Box 640.jpg
    Rib Box 640.jpg
    235.5 KB · Views: 141
Last edited by a moderator:
46 views and nobody's going to help Slat out here? I'll try but take my suggestions for what they are - I have no judging experience or training and have only competed once myself.
Brisket:
Nice color and smoke ring (I know they're not supposed to judge the ring but it does look nice).
Interesting arrangement of the slices but it looks a little disorganized and they look a little dry. Since the top slices are layed across the pile, they're bent over and showing a little seperation in the meat which might be construed as being overcooked. I know everyone layers their slices as they were cut, but that presentation is appealing. You get to see more of the nice color on the outside of the meat and if you sauce, it gives it a nice moist appealing look too. It looks like you had nice color on the outside - show it off. I do like that you include the chunks of point too.
Chicken:
I like that you pretty well filled the box. Most only put 6 thighs in but your arrangement looks a little more abundant. That can be appealing. The color looks too brown to me, but that could just be the picture. I know that the color of your chicken shouldn't be a detractor but the fact is that when people think BBQ chicken, they normally think red. Other than that, I like it.
Pork: