• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

EUDS - Electric Ugly Drum Smoker

Marvin

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Reaction score
I've been collecting the parts for this build for a few weeks now. I'm just getting started and will post more as the build progresses.

And the answer to the burning question, why electric, because it will be set and forget ... and that works for me. I know others will claim blasphemy and I'm sure from their viewpoint it is. However, this works for me. :thumb:

Disclaimer Notice:
In my prior career, I was an electrician, so doing this project does not present issues for me. However, if one follows what I've done, you do so at your own risk. If you do not know about electricity and wiring, please get someone to help you along in your endeavor. The life you save, may be your own. :wink:

Here is the barrel I located for $10.

001_zps631fa02c.png

The inside was unlined.

002_zpsa28fd78d.png

I'm guessing, it was a food barrel based on the label on it.

003_zps311fb15c.png

These are the lines to mark and drill for the stainless steel bolts.

004_zps4a5bb24c.png

Stainless steel nuts and bolts to hold the grates. Got the grates at Walmart for $12.

005_zpsa6eb3e2e.png

Stainless steel nuts and bolts mounted and grate sitting on them.

006_zps81053d24.png

Took one of the grates, turned upside down so the heating element can be mounted on.

007_zps4d7b016c.png

Put two bolts on the sides with no handles to keep the grate balanced when sitting on the bottom of the barrel.

008_zps0b2fa5a8.png

Here is the 220v/3000w oven bake element, similar to what you would find in your house oven, should be more than enough to keep things toasty. Got this off of Amazon for $12. The model information of the element: General Electric WB44X5043 Bake Element

010_zps0db2dd89.png

Set the heating element on the grate. I will use high heat wire to wrap around the element ends to keep it affixed to the grate.

011_zps91d26d5f.png

012_zps73648909.png