The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Turkey Brine/Thaw Question (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=119968)

BroBBQButcher 11-09-2011 03:18 PM

Turkey Brine/Thaw Question

So I am planning on smoking a pratice Tday turkey on Friday. I started thawing a 14 lb bird yesterday. I know I'm a bit behind rookie mistake.:doh: So here is the question. Would I be ok to put the half thawed turkey in a brine and let it finish thawing while brining? I plan to put it on the UDS at 300 and let her go until the breast reaches 163. Any other suggestions on a quick thaw or cooking advice is always appriciated.

Thanks in adavance

fingerlickin' 11-09-2011 03:27 PM

Check out this thread. The videos should provide some info and the last post is what I would suggest.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=119492

JONESY 11-09-2011 03:38 PM

You could quick thaw the bird under cold running water, then brine and cook as planned. If the bird is only partially frozen it shouldn't take long.

SmokinOkie 11-09-2011 03:41 PM

I'm pretty much convinced that if you try to brine while thawing, the brine won't brine effictively because of the frozen meat. Thaw first then brine.

Bogus Chezz Hawg 11-09-2011 03:44 PM

I wouldn't recommend that as the brine will penetrate the thawed portions only, until the rest thaws in the brine. Also it may be difficult to remove the neck & gizzards pouch, etc... from the cavity. Having said that, It's only a test bird, right?

I would submerge the "half thawed" bird in ice cold water. Being surrounded by cold liquid will thaw the bird very quickly compared to cold air in the fridge.
Make sure the water stays ice cold for food safety reasons. It should be fully thawed by Thursday, giving you plenty of time to brine it overnight for cooking on Friday.

BroBBQButcher 11-09-2011 03:53 PM

Quote: