Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Heya guys/gals.

Saturday I am having people from where I work come over for some food:
BBQ Pork
Brisket
Chicken beasts
-Dinner time is set at 6:30 / 7 pm.

My cook time window without getting up crazy early is - 8.5 hrs(8 am to 4:30pm) with a 2 hr rest time. -But will alter if.....-

I often smoke butts with the fast track method (kickassbbq) with positive results and am not worried about that as much as the brisket (less forgiving). I am a total newbie in this class...

I am torn as to, if I should try and do the fast track on the brisket w/injection. (kickassbbq) OR try and use the whole time availiable to smoke it. <---This is where I would be lost on what temps/time and such...

- Already bought a 10.34 lb Packer Choice...
- I am smoking on the larger offset that was made by Oklahoma Joe's but they seem to have be boughtout by someone else? Its the Competition model ???

Just really nervous as the people coming are from work and I'll never hear the end of it if the food sucks.....very unforgivin people.....

Just looking for a lil guidence
Thanks,
Joe

I've never done the fast track mod so I can't comment on that. If you're smoking that brisket at 225* or less then you're gonna need more time. I tend to need 1-1.5 hours per pound on briskets and butts. Some day I'm gonna try the fast track thing just haven't scheduled that as yet...:roll: :|

Yeah your gonna have trouble doing a brisket in 8 hours. Ive never tried the fast method either although Ive heard it works. Better put the brisket on for a 12 hour cook, maybe get up and throw just it on then you could sleep the rest of the night.

I have not looked at KickAsses Site in a while, but the method he describes works fine for both butts and briskets.

We cook at the low to mid 300s and have no problem getting it all done in 6 to 8 hours including time in the cooler. This is on a stick or charcoal burner, not the FEC.

TIM

kapn -

needed to hear that.

"FEC" ???