Biscuit Recipe

Yakfishingfool

Babbling Farker
Reaction score
OK guys, not a great baker, but I want to dabble in making some biscuits. What I am looking for is a biscuit that will hold up to made into a breakfast sandwich. So light crumbly break apart biscuits may not get it done. Simple is good too :) So take a moment and let me know your biscuit recipe so that I may give it a try. Scott

You should see if Bigdog's wife will give up her biscuit recipe. Her's were very good.

1 Tube of Pilsberry grands and a preheated oven. I hate making dough.
Like a fatty, I use the stuff in the tube.

I had some success with these

Attachments

• 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    92.2 KB · Views: 163
  • 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    76.1 KB · Views: 162
  • 7.JPG
    7.JPG
    93.7 KB · Views: 163
  • 9.JPG
    9.JPG
    91.2 KB · Views: 162
This is my recipe. I have been cooking these for about 15 years. I started with a traditional recipe and tweaked it here and there over the years until I decided to settle on this version. If you don't have semolina flour of you don't like the rustic texture it produces than omit the semolina and it will still work great. Like anything else learning to make great biscuits takes some practice but then that's the fun of it too. Don't be afraid to knead these a bit and keep the ingredients very cold. If you cut them with a large diameter cutter they make great sandwiches.

Buttermilk Biscuits

4 cups King Arthur all purpose flour
1 cup semolina flour
5 Tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 Tbs sugar
1 Tbs salt
2 sticks salted butter cut in 1/2" cubes
2 cups whole butter milk

Heat oven to 450*
Mix dry ingredients well
Add butter cubes and mix with a pastry blender until fully incorporated
Add butter milk and mix by hand until smooth adding a splash of butter milk if you need to so the dough isn't too dry, kneed a few times on a floured surface, and roll until 1/2 thick.
Cut biscuits with a sharp cutter and brush with more salted butter