The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   dumb MOINK ball question (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81059)

backwoods 03-24-2010 09:54 AM

dumb MOINK ball question

First off ill say that im a horrible cook and normally burn toast. I built my first UDS and want to cook some MOINK balls and a fatty this weekend to see how bad i can screw it up. I tried to search for the answer to this question but maybe its so dumb nobody else has had to ask it. :confused:

How do you know when the MOINK balls and the fatty are done? I can stick a thermo in the fatty but what temp do i pull it at? I assume the balls are too small to use a thermo. Do i just pull them when the bacon looks done?

bigabyte 03-24-2010 09:56 AM

When the bacon is done. The meatballs are precooked, so you are basically overcooking them, so the best part is the bacon and glaze (if you use one), so make those parts the best you can for the best experience.

Ron_L 03-24-2010 10:23 AM

The man with the top secret signature is right on with his advice on MOINK balls. For the fatty, you should cook it until the internal temp is at least 165.

chambersuac 03-24-2010 10:53 AM

Warning! Make at least twice as many MOINK Balls as you think you'll eat...and at least TWO fatties. Trust me on this.

backwoods 03-24-2010 01:33 PM

good advice guys. Im probably making this more difficult then it really is.

One other dumb question while im lowering the brethren I.Q. level. Im going to put some chunks of wood on top the the charcoal, do i need to soak them in water?

chambersuac 03-24-2010 01:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by backwoods (Post 1225495)
good advice guys. Im probably making this more difficult then it really is.