• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Flat top vs. Kettle top UDS

Dmars13

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Reaction score
Hey everyone I have a question for those that have built a few UDSs. Between keeping the original drum lid and using the kettle lid which would you recommend and why. And to keep things easier let's assume the kettle lid fits snug on the UDS.
I'm thinking the kettle lid would be better just because it gives me more space for my top grate, but are there advantages for the flat lid I'm not seeing?

I have no experience w/ a flat lid. I went w/ the Weber lid for the room and I'm glad I did.

If you have a domed Weber lid available there is no good reason NOT to use it. I have a kettle- and a double grate setup on my drum. I've used the dome lid to run 2 grates a few times. Jacking with 2 full grates on a uds can be a bit of a pain- so I don't do it often. I have my drum set up one 3 bricks with a slight cant, the "drip down" from the flat lid is not an issue.

Depends on what you want to do with your drum. I have one of each. I prefer the flat lid, But I also do pizza's on mine and the flat lid I can get a more even cook top/bottom with the flat lid. So the dome is strictly for smoking. I have 3 racks total in each. The bottom rack/grate is for a drip pan or deflector when required. 2 racks for cooking. Plenty of room even with the flat lid for doing 6 large butts 3/ea grate. I haven't had a problem with stuff dripping off the lid with my lids, either one. But I do flake off the extra when it's there.

Thanks guys, ebijack your post gives me a few more questions. I was also thinking of adding a grate for a deflector. What did you use for your deflector, how high above the charcoal basket is it, and when/how do you decide if it's necessary?