Competition Sponsorship Questions

Hoosier Chef

Got Wood.
Reaction score
Hello. I am a classically trained chef with a passion for the que. I own a BBQ catering company and am planning to dive into competition this season. I know my way around a smoker, although competition is new to me. I've taken some classes, read a thousand pages from the masters (multiple times) and believe I am ready to tackle my first season. I am as ready as anyone that started in competition...at least I think so...lol.

Last night, I secured a sponsor to pay all entry fees, expenses and product. In return, I give back all winnings and money earned from vending. The goal is to break even and\or make them some cash in the form of fundraising. I will have all of the help I can handle provided by the sponsor, so I can concentrate on the competition, while others can work on the vending. I am not looking to profit from competitions at this point. I want the experience and hopefully some glory to establish my catering company. This would be a long term relationship with the sponsor, assuming I can break even and/or raise the sponsor some funds, while getting their name out to the public.

My question is this.....How much money can I expect to earn in vending at a small to medium sized competition? Is it a reasonable assumption that I could break even with local contests (nothing far away)?

Thanks for any input. If you see pitfalls in my plan, please point them out.

Have a good one.

Hello. I am a classically trained chef with a passion for the que. I own a BBQ catering company and am planning to dive into competition this season. I know my way around a smoker, although competition is new to me. I've taken some classes, read a thousand pages from the masters (multiple times) and believe I am ready to tackle my first season. I am as ready as anyone that started in competition...at least I think so...lol.