The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Coleslaw question (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=166964)

Higgledy 07-27-2013 02:11 PM

Coleslaw question

Can I make my coleslaw the night before without it getting soggy?

letdasmokeroll 07-27-2013 02:18 PM

im no expert but i think cole slaw is better made before hand it gives all the ingredients time to mix ...i just make sure i stir it ever few hours

sroderic 07-27-2013 03:01 PM

Might depend on the coleslaw, but I agree with letdasmokeroll...flavors blend better over time. Cabbage holds its crispness and texture over time really well. I made some vinegar based slaw last week (not the mayo stuff) and it still tastes as good today as it did the day after (which were both better than the first day).

Pyle's BBQ 07-27-2013 03:34 PM

What do your an by soggy? If you mean the cabbage getting softer than fresh. The answer is no. The vinegar will draw water out of the cabbage and cause it to wilt. If you don't want your slaw drowning in dressing, add half the amount of dressing you have and let it sit overnight. In the morning mix your slaw and add the desired among of dressing for your taste.

cpw 07-27-2013 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pyle's BBQ (Post 2567689)
What do your an by soggy? If you mean the cabbage getting softer than fresh. The answer is no. The vinegar will draw water out of the cabbage and cause it to wilt. If you don't want your slaw drowning in dressing, add half the amount of dressing you have and let it sit overnight. In the morning mix your slaw and add the desired among of dressing for your taste.

That's exactly what I do. Sometimes I pour off a little of the liquid first, before adding the additional dressing.

HeSmellsLikeSmoke 07-27-2013 05:53 PM