The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Small Packer = no flat? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=145664)

SmokeFan 10-09-2012 06:31 AM

Small Packer = no flat?

I've done a few larger packers, say about 12-15lbs, but this is my first attempt at a smaller packer.

It's a 8 lb Costco Choice full packer. I set out trimming the thing up this am, and the first I noticed was that there is very little actual meat in the flat section. There's easily as much fat as flat. If I trimmed fat down to 1/4" I doubt the whole flat would be 3/4" thick.

The meat is a beautiful color, and I think the point is gonna be great, but this flat looks more like beef bacon than brisket when viewed from the side. Have I been had?

Either way, it's on at 270, rubbed with nothing but a dalmation mix of sea salt(ground) and tellicherry pepper.

Here's a pic that shows how thin the flat is:

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/...allpacker2.jpg

NickTheGreat 10-09-2012 06:51 AM

I'm no butcher, but I've noticed that some of the packers I get from Sams have a much smaller point than others. The last one I bought was the biggest brisket I've bought (by a little) and had the smallest point.

BBQ PD 10-09-2012 09:50 AM

I've seen those a Costco also, and although I am no butcher, I believe they are not actually full packers. What I have seen is flats and points that seem to have been split, then placed in a cryovac.

deguerre 10-09-2012 09:58 AM

Jeez. I'd be worried about that flat (sort of:roll:) drying out. Are you gonna pan and foil once it gets some smoke?

SmokeFan 10-09-2012 10:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBQ PD (Post 2238665)
I've seen those a Costco also, and although I am no butcher, I believe they are not actually full packers. What I have seen is flats and points that seem to have been split, then placed in a cryovac.