PDA

View Full Version : Hello from L.A. - Brazilian Churrasco guy

Slappo
09-26-2010, 03:53 AM
Hi,

Thought I'd introduce myself after checking out the Brethren for a few months. This is quite a crew here! Always been a BBQ fanatic, but just typical backyard stuff. That is, until I married my wife whose parents are from the South of Brazil (she was born and raised in Queens, though). My brother-in-law, who is a master at churrasco, introduced me to the art and finally after 5 years, I took the plunge and had a special pit made (I have an old Brinkmann Pitmaster smoker as well). Last weekend was my first time out on a large scale - my daughter's 4th birthday party. 60 adults, 40 kids. I made 60 chk thighs, 5 cuts of picanha (rump cap off the round), and about 50 sausages. And we had feijoada (Brazilian black beans with meat), rice, as well as hamburgers and hot dogs. I make a special blend of cuts for the hamburgers (15 lbs), and got the same hot dogs Pink's uses (about 10 lbs). I'm told everything came out awesome, but I don't know because I never had a chance to sample anything myself. I was cooking the whole time!

Here's a link (http://s1008.photobucket.com/albums/af207/Slappo1/First%20Brazilian%20BBQ/) to the photos (I'm not sure if I need a subscription to upload photos).

Anyway, I'm here to learn and if I can answer any questions about churrasco (that I know the answer to), I will! Thanks for letting me hang out!

frognot
09-26-2010, 07:52 AM
Welcome aboard Slappo!

frognot
09-26-2010, 07:55 AM
I'm told everything came out awesome, but I don't know because I never had a chance to sample anything myself. I was cooking the whole time!

In the future be sure to sample all meat before serving it to make sure it's done. Looks like you missed a great lookin' feast!

smoken don
09-26-2010, 11:12 AM
Welcome! Fine lookin cook. Thanks for the pics.

bluetang
09-26-2010, 12:00 PM
Welcome Slappo, come on in, take your shoes off and sit a spell. Great looking rig:thumb: