PDA

View Full Version : Box Rating

Porky Joes
09-05-2010, 08:04 PM
This is my first attempt at the box. I do not have the ribs in it yet but please give me some feedback. Thanks

Mister Bob
09-05-2010, 08:26 PM
IMHO, it looks rough. Empty on the lower left, uneven along the edges and generally too loose. Nice healthy parsley and a good dark green color though. Add some more parsley and be careful that everthing is tight and neat especially around the edges. Make everything look like that upper left corner.

CBQ
09-05-2010, 08:49 PM
Just think of the nickname for a parsley box - the "putting green".

To get that even look, try cutting down the stems to make them fit. I can't tell what's going on under there, but the box leaves the impression that you tried to work around stems of different lengths to fit it in.

Boshizzle
09-05-2010, 09:03 PM
Here is my 1st box ever. Notice the stems? It sucks.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=325&pictureid=2743

This is my second box ever. No stems and, overall, an improvement over the 1st box. However, it's not "tight." Stems, while not sticking up, are too long.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=290&pictureid=2748
I'll be doing four boxes tommorrow that I hope to improve over these two.

The advice from the brethren above is good. Thanks, brethren.

Porky Joes
09-05-2010, 09:34 PM
Itrimmed the pieces where the branches began so there were a little bit of stems in there. Im practicing before my first competition in two weeks so this feedback is great.

Thanks to everyone who has posted and hopefully will post.

Crash
09-05-2010, 11:18 PM
It's only a picture....but, check out the top left corner. That, to me, looks like the best part of the box. Try to duplicate that throughout the entire box.

Also, you want enough greens in the box to make the meat "float". If the meat is sinking in to the greens, there isnt enough greenery in the box IMHO.