PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice...

Southern Home Boy
07-21-2010, 04:59 PM
Someone at work discovered that I'm a competition BBQ cook and now I've been "nominated" to do the company picnic.

I've never "cooked for the masses" before and since this is my JOB, I want to make sure I do it right.

Historically, we've had about 200 people (broad range of ages) at this thing.

The President is pretty much leaving it up to his Executive Assistant (who in turn is leaving it up to me) as to what the menu will be.

I've got a double-grate UDS that I'm pretty sure I could fit 8 7-8 lb. pork butts in and the park we're having it at has a large charcoal grill at the pavillion.

My initial idea is to smoke 8 butts for pulled pork sammies, grill a bunch of burgers and dogs to augment and serve up a few different sides like slaw, BBQ beans, potato salad and chips and have canned pop on ice.

Figuring 1/2# raw weight per person on the pork, that would give me about 120 servings. Given the other sides and burgers and dogs, does this sound like enough?

HBMTN
07-21-2010, 06:52 PM
In my neck of the woods if I showed up to a BBQ of 200 people with enough pork for 120 and hot dogs and burgers for the other 80 I would get hung by at least 70 people. I'd find a way to do more pork or not do it at all. Just my opinion.

Hotrodhog
07-21-2010, 07:04 PM
Ive got to agree, you need more cooking surface, maybe a rental yard santa maria style grill and do a bunch of tri tips? I do that for the football season snack bar, its too easy.
Also, if your not use to 8 butts on your drum, it will be slower than 1-4 so Goodluck and try to have fun with it!

NRA4Life
07-21-2010, 08:15 PM