PDA

View Full Version : Whole Hog Help

tmcmaster
02-25-2010, 01:07 AM
Greetings all!

I am in a bit of a sticky wicket... I have a job in July with a whole hog. Now, that's very good news except that I have never done a whole hog on an off-set before. I would like to do the job since it is family and they have many connections that would be many future jobs. So here is/are my question(s)...

I would like to do a 'trial run' with a whole hog in April, and would like to know if anyone has:
A) Done a whole hog on an off set?
B ) Some tips, tricks or secrets they would like to share?
C) If so inclined, be willing to came to my place in April and sort of 'tutor' me on the finer points of it?

Thanks!

Lake Dogs
02-25-2010, 06:57 AM
Divemaster did a whole hog on a Lang 60 a while back:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=64701&highlight=whole+hog

smokinit
02-25-2010, 07:15 AM
Not hard at all what are you cooking on.

southernsmoker
02-25-2010, 09:48 AM
We do whole hogs on the Lang, worst drawback I find is ya can't eat the skin, some folks want that crispy cracklin's.

tmcmaster
02-25-2010, 07:59 PM
Not hard at all what are you cooking on.

My off set (Priscilla). Her previous life was an unused 275 gallon tank. Stick/coal burner.

We do whole hogs on the Lang, worst drawback I find is ya can't eat the skin, some folks want that crispy cracklin's.
Hmmmm... That was what I was really looking forward to...

smokinit
02-25-2010, 08:02 PM
My off set (Priscilla). Her previous life was an unused 275 gallon tank. Stick/coal burner.

Hmmmm... That was what I was really looking forward to...
That is what I did my first in can you get her up to 280 or so?

BBQ_MAFIA
02-25-2010, 09:20 PM
This thread shows how I cooked a pig in my Lang 60.
If you scroll through the thread you will see pics also.

Good luck and I hope this helps.