PDA

View Full Version : Smoked Noob

PorkSword
02-16-2004, 10:20 AM
Hi all. Great site! This site helped seal the deal for which smoker to buy. And thanks to Slat for the welcome note.
I seasoned the new Dera yesterday as per the instructions in Bandera 101 after spending a couple of days making the firegrate, baffle, and gasket mods.
I suppose you already know from all of the noobs how sweet it is to have a doc like Bandera 101 to get you started. Thank you very much for that.
I'm new to smoking, but all of the info from the posts and the files made the plunge easy enough.

The seasoning went fairly well. After a major heat spike near the beginning :? and a couple of smaller temp dips and bumps, I managed to keep the heat around 300 or so according to the digital therm. The door therm was about 50 degrees off, just like you guys warned.
I had lots of Sweet Blue pouring from the stack, but depsite the silicone gasket, I still had a little smoke leaking from the door (I'll need to touch up the gasket). I also had a lot of smoke (and heat) pouring out of the top of the firebox side door. When I close it, it warps slightly creating a gap at the top. :?: Should I seal that door, too?

Also, :?: Do you guys find it easier to use wood chunks instead of logs to maintain the temp? I bought my wood from Academy. It came in 12 inch split logs. After getting a good bed of coals in the fire box, I found that one log was enough to heat the smoke chamber to 300 degrees, but the problem was that the log heated the dera quickly at the beginning when it first caught then slowly drop to about 250 degrees as it burned down, and I'd put a new log in. So... :?: should I use logs for hotter cookings and chunks to maintain the lower temps? Or is there something I may be doing wrong?

Anyway, thanks for the great info and for the place of refuge. I look forward to learning a great deal from this site.

P.S. I'm going to try beer can chicken tonight. Wish me luck! :)

colt45