PDA

View Full Version : New To Contest Idea

cjk1977
09-28-2009, 02:18 PM
I have been smoking for a few years now and really want to enter an amatuer/backyard contest. I was hoping there might be some literature out there to read that will take me throguh the process as well as tips from all the competition vets here. I really have no idea what a contest is like from a competitors point of view or what to expect.

Stoke&Smoke
09-28-2009, 02:35 PM
This would be a good place to start, I think
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13677

CivilWarBBQ
09-28-2009, 02:58 PM
Go to some contests with a cooler full of cold beer on Friday. Meet, greet and ask questions. You'll learn a ton and make new friends!

juicybuttsbbq
09-28-2009, 05:17 PM
I have been smoking for a few years now and really want to enter an amatuer/backyard contest. I was hoping there might be some literature out there to read that will take me throguh the process as well as tips from all the competition vets here. I really have no idea what a contest is like from a competitors point of view or what to expect.

Come On Down to the Hoosier Daddy We have three Amatuer Spots left.
Our Backyard will be cooking the KCBS 4 meat catagory, Turn In Times are scheduled 1/2 hr part, scored by KCBS Judges using the KCBS Scoring System
the only difference is smaller spaces, no electric, shared water source.

Our last Contest like this generated 4 new Pro Teams that are competing in Hoosier Daddy Pros This Time.
Heck You Already have three important elements: JUICE,FIRE AND BURNING DESIRE!!

~Porkchop

cjk1977
09-28-2009, 06:13 PM
Thanks. That link to the thread with all the info is just what I was looking for. I should have been a little more proactive in looking myself!! Once I get thorugh all of that I should have a real good idea what is needed and what people do. Thanks again and now off to do some reading an d note taking!!

lunchlady
09-29-2009, 01:09 PM