PDA

View Full Version : Where do I start??

Smoke-eater
09-22-2009, 12:51 AM
Hey all,

My wife has always talked about going into the catering biz. So I have been thinking that a BBA catering biz would make us both happy. Now I realize off the bat that we have a long way to go, but wanted to see if there was any advice to be had.

I have been doing BBQ for a little over a year. I started with a Weber kettle and then built a UDS this past spring. I still have a ways to go in terms of perfecting the process, but so far everything that I have made has come out really well and everyone that I give it to goes on and on about it.

Should we try to get into some competition BBQ or should we just keep cooking at home and developing the craft.

Any and all advice (I think) is appreciated.

grillfella
09-22-2009, 02:38 AM
Best of luck. It is a tuff business I have been doing it for a few years now, but I still have another job to keep me a float when times get tough. Stick with it my friend, I am sure some other caterers will chime in:-D

big brother smoke
09-22-2009, 08:28 AM
You have homework: http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51391

Smoke-eater
09-22-2009, 01:23 PM
You have homework: http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51391

Thanks Big Brother. I had already been reading all those posts. I think my main question is should my first goal be to participate in BBQ comps? Just wondered if this would be the best route to develop my cooking.

Thanks

Spydermike72
09-22-2009, 02:36 PM
Thanks Big Brother. I had already been reading all those posts. I think my main question is should my first goal be to participate in BBQ comps? Just wondered if this would be the best route to develop my cooking.

Thanks