PDA

View Full Version : KCBS Judging Class: Lynchburg, TN

Rightstuff
09-14-2008, 08:19 AM
We've heard a lot of people say that "to compete" you really should take a judging class. Theres a class in Lynchburg, TN next month that we are thinking about. Its a 4 hour drive from our house and one of the few remaining classes this year. Whats your thoughts about judging classes? Also, what format do they use...is it a classroom....do you get to eat BBQ...let me know what you think.

Merl
09-14-2008, 08:40 AM
That is a great question.

I am a CBJ instructor for KCBS. I am frequently asked that question. I answer in the affirmative. After the class almost every cook has told me they were glad they participated in the class. Here is why.

The course is two hours of instruction and two hours of mock contest. During the first two hours you are instructed on rules and how to judge using the rules. This will include the standards. Such as a perfectly cooked rib is one when you bite into the meat, the rib meat will separate cleanly from the bone, leaving the remaining meat intact and the bone will quickly dry and turn white.

Now many would think that a rib with meat falling off the bone would be perfect. This is just an example of the KCBS standards.

The other benefit is to actually experience and observe how people judge. This is a learning experience as well.

I hope you decide to take the class and have a great experience.

Merl
KCBS CBJ Instructor

Podge
09-14-2008, 09:09 AM
I some day plan on taking a judging class, but I don't think it's that important to gain an edge to be more competitive. If you're pretty new to competition, it'd probably do you some good.

CajunSmoker
09-14-2008, 09:18 AM