PDA

View Full Version : UDS and Comps

StayDown
07-16-2008, 11:34 AM
I was curious how many people use, have used or know of those that have used a fleet of UDS for comps.

I was thinking about making about 5 of them and eventually working my way into comps that way I get the experinece without the huge investment up front that I can't deal with right now.

What would be the downside to using them for a comp?

PatioDaddio
07-16-2008, 11:56 AM
I used two homemade drums (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2104/2498848364_f252d800da_o_d.jpg) at a competition in Provo, Utah (http://www.utahbbq.org/viewtopic.php?t=1395) on the 4th, and they performed flawlessly. I used to be a diehard WSM cook, but I have seen the promised land, and the scores to match. :grin:

John

Jaybird
07-16-2008, 11:57 AM
If you have no problem haulin them around then there is no downside. I've been using 2 BDS's for chicken and ribs for a few years now. Also use WSM's for heavy meats. I store my WSM's inside the drums while traveling and use a hitch carrier. This allows me to use the rest of the bed of my truck for stuff.
And...it's not the cooker...it's the cook...you can master any cooker.

Sawdustguy
07-16-2008, 12:04 PM
Remember it's the cook, not the cooker. You can still make crappy Que in an expensive cooker.

StayDown
07-16-2008, 12:07 PM
I am a machinist/welder so if I did have an issue hauling them I could always fabricate something/

bbqczar
07-16-2008, 12:09 PM
If you have no problem haulin them around then there is no downside. I've been using 2 BDS's for chicken and ribs for a few years now. Also use WSM's for heavy meats. I store my WSM's inside the drums while traveling and use a hitch carrier. This allows me to use the rest of the bed of my truck for stuff.
And...it's not the cooker...it's the cook...you can master any cooker.

Yeah,but Jay,you're one of those 'elitist" !!!:lol::lol::lol:

Jaybird
07-16-2008, 12:30 PM
Yeah,but Jay,you're one of those 'elitist" !!!:lol::lol::lol: