PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone thought of "retiring" from contest cooking ?

MilitantSquatter
06-10-2008, 09:55 PM
I thought I would post this question to see where some other teams/cooks heads are at. I could have used the word "quit" but "retire" seemed like a good euphemism.

Many of us have shared the reasons we got into contest cooking (ex. natural progression from the backyard, love of competition, travel, meeting new people, seeing familiar faces etc.) Not many of us have shared their experiences on thinking about or actually stopping their participation in competition BBQ.

I'm only in my third year at contests. By my own standards, I think I've been fairly successful in a relatively limited time. No GC's or RGC's but typically high placings in almost all contests either overall and/or specific categories. It's a good feeling when it happens knowing you gave your all.

I finished last season in late October. My next contest was this past weekend. During that seven month gap, I planned out my '08 schedule while simulataneously lamenting if I wanted to do it any longer, why it was important etc. I also spent some time talking privately to several members on this site whom I respect their opinions and who know me personally to get their input.

So, I cooked this weekend. It was fun. We did well with a top 10 overall (7th). I enjoyed the prep, the fast pace at turn in time etc. I had laughs with lots of good friends. Another plus was the group effort.