PDA

View Full Version : KCBS Board of Directors Meeting Tonight


Bride of Roo(BQ'n)
02-08-2008, 11:32 AM
As Phil has stated in another thread. This meeting is open to the public.

It will be held at Embassy Suites Metcalf and I-435 in Overland Park...start time is 7:00 pm.

One of the greatest things Merl has done for the membership so far is get this meeting open to us as members. I just spoke with him and he encourages members to attend.

Tom and I are driving down from Omaha and will be there. If this is half as important to you (especially local members) as you have iterated here. Please consider attending. We can call it a Mini Bash!

See you there!!

KC_Bobby
02-08-2008, 11:38 AM
It is very close to my work, considering it. Anyone have a muzzle or gag for me? Shall we meet up for a bite prior to the meeting?

Bride of Roo(BQ'n)
02-08-2008, 11:41 AM
PM sent KC_B

tonto1117
02-08-2008, 11:44 AM
Sure wish we lived closer...would be there in a NY minute!!! Good luck Char, and all others that can make it!!!!

Plowboy
02-08-2008, 11:47 AM
It is very close to my work, considering it. Anyone have a muzzle or gag for me? Shall we meet up for a bite prior to the meeting?

At least a beer afterwards. THAT should be the more interesting conversation.

(I just want to see Tom and Char, again. :biggrin:)

SP
02-08-2008, 11:49 AM
I will try to be there, just down the street from me.

Spydermike72
02-08-2008, 11:50 AM
I wish I could be there as well. Man a webcast of tonight's meeting would probably blow out the server!!

Todd, have a beer for me, and say hi to Roo and Char for me!!

scottyd
02-08-2008, 11:52 AM
Well Char you and Tom give them the one two punch for South Dakota!!!!! 9 hours is just to far to go after work. I can not get there in 2 hours.

KC_Bobby
02-08-2008, 11:52 AM
At least a beer afterwards. THAT should be the more interesting conversation.

(I just want to see Tom and Char, again. :biggrin:)

Yeah, I want to avoid beers prior. That would be the last thing needed at this point. And I know I'll be hungry prior. I could go home first, but I'd have to turn right back around leave within the hour. I'd be better off going out to eat then spending the gas to go back and forth AND I just noticed Da Bronx on Metcalf the other night.

Roo-B-Q'N
02-08-2008, 11:53 AM
First we will sit there with our mouths covered in tape and then burn our bras errrr Manzierrrs.

Seriously, there has been alot of complaining by KCBS members that the BOD is so secretive. Here is our chance to show them that we care about our society and the direction it is going. Please be there if possible.

YankeeBBQ
02-08-2008, 12:08 PM
First we will sit there with our mouths covered in tape and then burn our bras errrr Manzierrrs.

Seriously, there has been alot of complaining by KCBS members that the BOD is so secretive. Here is our chance to show them that we care about our society and the direction it is going. Please be there if possible.

Just don't be surprised when they decide to table everything to Executive Session. That's pretty much what happened at the last meeting which was held during the banquet.

KC_Bobby
02-08-2008, 12:13 PM
If I decide to go, I'd like to have more of a background on the board. If you are aware of some information (location, years on board, association to BBQ, etc) on the current board, please post.


KCBS Officers and the committee they chair
Tony Stone (tstone@kcbs.us) President - outgoing
Carolyn Wells (cwells@kcbs.us) Executive Director - founding member, wife of Gary
Rod Gray (rgray@kcbs.us) Vice President / Rules - comp cook Pellet Envy
Wayne Lohman (wlohman@kcbs.us) Treasurer / Finance
Bunny Tuttle (btuttle@kcbs.us) Secretary / Contest Reps - outgoing

KCBS Board of Directors and the committee they chair
Troy Black (tblack@kcbs.us) Marketing / Public Relations - comp cook Learn2Q
Don Harwell (dharwell@kcbs.us) Technology
Paul Kirk (pkirk@kcbs.us) Education - comp cook and Barron of BBQ
Mike Lake (mlake@kcbs.us) Judging / CBJ
Jim Minion (jminion@kcbs.us) Contest Sanctioning & Mentoring - outgoing
Linda Mullane (lmullane@kcbs.us) Research & Development
Steve Ownby (sownby@kcbs.us) Membership
Merl Whitebook (mwhitebook@kcbs.us) New Ideas / Nominating

Incoming BODs (I think)
Carol Whitebook
Tana Shupe
Ed Roith

Roo-B-Q'N
02-08-2008, 12:29 PM
Just don't be surprised when they decide to table everything to Executive Session. That's pretty much what happened at the last meeting which was held during the banquet.


I wouldn't put it past them, but they will know there are actually real live members they are supposed to be representing.

Ford
02-08-2008, 12:31 PM
Jim, TOny and Bunny are no longer on the BOD. Rod was relelected. Carolyn is executive director (paid position) for life. send me an email if you want more.

watertowerbbq
02-08-2008, 03:19 PM
Thanks for taking the time to go to the meeting. The more people who attend the better. I will not be driving down to KC tonight, but I will interested to read your posts tomorrow.

Represent the Brethern well. Thanks.

KC_Bobby
02-08-2008, 03:40 PM
The more I think about this, the more we owe it to Merl to be present. I'm heavily leaning towards being there.

Who else?

ThomEmery
02-08-2008, 08:27 PM
Wish I could

Jeff_in_KC
02-08-2008, 09:18 PM
A small correction. The board meetings were always open to members. That wasn't something Merl accomplished. Not meant as a knock on Merl but we need to be accurate.

River City Smokehouse
02-08-2008, 09:42 PM
So did anyone attend? Give it up....what took place? Probably still going on huh?

ThomEmery
02-08-2008, 09:45 PM
We need these meetings live on the web

River City Smokehouse
02-08-2008, 09:48 PM
We need these meeting live on the web
That would be good.

watertowerbbq
02-08-2008, 09:58 PM
I agree. Ankeny isn't as far away as CA, but still too far to drive for a meeting that lasts a couple of hours.

drbbq
02-08-2008, 10:19 PM
So did anyone attend? Give it up....what took place? Probably still going on huh?

I was there for a different matter and there were a few people sitting in on the meeting. I think it's still going.

Bigdog
02-08-2008, 10:31 PM
I was there for a different matter and there were a few people sitting in on the meeting. I think it's still going.

So what was your take on the meeting Doc?

KC_Bobby
02-08-2008, 11:55 PM
I went. In reality, those were 4 very boring hours - yet a good experience.

Good discussions on sactioning some events and trying to keep events happy.

Revising some rules so they are written with a little more clarity. Nothing that changes anything any cook that is currently following the rules - just some wording. And some discussion about quit hours - til 7 am! I hope that means the organizers can't get on the megahorns earlier to announce they are serving breakfast every 5 minutes like they did at the Speedway last year.

About the only issue that raised some discussion with personal emotion was something about some nepotism thing. It had some minor discussion then it was voted to table it until the next meeting. Then their was some more discussion of some of the board members providing some opinions.

Then about 11:00 they went into some executive session regarding another matter and I said good bye. I needed to get home.

BBQchef33
02-09-2008, 12:07 AM
Locking this one down so we dont have the same discussion in 2 places. Continue discussion in this thread (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?p=556798#post556798) (I copied KC-Bobbys response to keep the flow.)