PDA

View Full Version : KCBS BOD Meeting Agenda


BBQchef33
02-06-2008, 01:28 PM
Here is the agenda for this months board meeting. If your interested and want to comment, please email the board of directors. I know many of you wont look for this otherwise, so I will try to do this for all up and coming board meetings to make it easier to get more involved.

The Board meeting is Friday night, so if you want to open something for discussion, please start another thread with the agenda item as the title. Hopefully one of our board/members will stop in and chime in before the meeting.

These are the addresses if you elect to email directly(encouraged): (The new electee's addresses have not been posted yet. )

Entire Board: (Just cut and paste) cwells@kcbs.us:rgray@kcbs.us;wlohman@kcbs.us;tblac k@kcbs.us;
dharwell@kcbs.us;pkirk@kcbs.us;mlake@kcbs.us;lmull ane@kcbs.us;
sownby@kcbs.us;mwhitebook@kcbs.us

or Individual

KCBS Officers and the committee they chair
Tony Stone (tstone@kcbs.us) President
Carolyn Wells (cwells@kcbs.us) Executive Director
Rod Gray (rgray@kcbs.us) Vice President / Rules
Wayne Lohman (wlohman@kcbs.us)Treasurer / Finance
Bunny Tuttle (btuttle@kcbs.us) Secretary / Contest Reps

KCBS Board of Directors and the committee they chair
Troy Black (tblack@kcbs.us) Marketing / Public Relations
Don Harwell (dharwell@kcbs.us) Technology
Paul Kirk (pkirk@kcbs.us) Education
Mike Lake (mlake@kcbs.us) Judging / CBJ
Jim Minion (jminion@kcbs.us)Contest Sanctioning & Mentoring
Linda Mullane (lmullane@kcbs.us) Research & Development
Steve Ownby (sownby@kcbs.us) Membership
Merl Whitebook (mwhitebook@kcbs.us) New Ideas / Nominating


KANSAS CITY BARBEQUE SOCIETY

BOARD OF DIRECTOR’S MEETING

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2008

AGENDA

Election of Officers

Minutes

Accounting
Finance Committee Report

Contests
Past
Lakeland, FL
Request
Sanction Report
Other

Committee Report

Rules Committee
Committee Meeting rule changes – Gray
Amendment to rules re: causes for disqualification and eviction – M. Whitebook
Rule Clarification: Scoring of disqualified entry – M. Whitebook

CBJ
Discussion issue re take-home policy

Contest Rep
Education
Marketing
Marketing Update-MMA
Sanctioning Issue re: Tour
Tour Motion by M. Whitebook

Membership
Mentoring
New Ideas
New Ideas
Cooks critiques
Reps critiques

Research & Development
Nominating
Technology

Old/New Business
Haggitt letter / KCBS Board Nepotism Policy – T. Black
Posting of bylaws - Harwell
Stone letter
KCBS Member access to the Board of Directors – C. Whitebook
Member Discounted Contest Entry Fees – M. Whitebook
Tabled from previous meeting - M. Whitebook

1. Succession Plan
2. Accounts Receivable
3. 2006 Audit
4. Capitalization Procedures and purchasing system
5. CBJ membership compliance
6. MBN
7. Infrastructure/Professional services
8. Budget Constraints
9. Contest posting


Other
Any other matter that may come before the Board

nancee
02-06-2008, 07:07 PM
wow! like to be a fly on the wall at this one!
nancee

ThomEmery
02-06-2008, 08:19 PM
This should be web cast

arlieque
02-06-2008, 08:53 PM
I was told there was an updated one just in the last few minutes, you may want to check on that ,Phil.

Scottie
02-07-2008, 09:56 AM
Seriously? That in a bunch of bunk. This, in my eyes is a rule that is targeted at one sitting Board member. While I do not believe that we should have relatives on the Board, there were absolutely no rules broken by doing this. Presedence was set a long time ago, when Gary was a Board member and Carolyn was the Executive Director.

What amuses me even more is this Board member last year quit, because the Board wasn't going to put in his marketing company. As it has been established that he had a conflict of interest with dealing with this company. Some of us members do keep track of these things too.

I believe that the Board should vote down this Motion. Also, was it submitted in a timely fashion?

A mandate was issued by the members with the vote for the Board. As this all relates to the leading vote getter in the recent election.

Sledneck
02-07-2008, 10:12 AM
This should be web cast
That is a fantastic idea. Is this at all possible in the future?

Roo-B-Q'N
02-07-2008, 11:48 AM
That is a fantastic idea. Is this at all possible in the future?

Possible yes, probable ?????

YankeeBBQ
02-07-2008, 01:28 PM
I wonder whose running for what office. I'd like to let them know who I would like to see as President.

Arlin_MacRae
02-07-2008, 02:08 PM
Has nepotism ever actually been a problem?? Maybe 'caused' is a better word.

Scottie
02-07-2008, 02:10 PM
I wonder whose running for what office. I'd like to let them know who I would like to see as President.

I don't think that will be happening...

ThomEmery
02-07-2008, 02:21 PM
We paid to be members
and we voted
leave it alone

ThomEmery
02-07-2008, 02:27 PM
That is a fantastic idea. Is this at all possible in the future?


www.nowlive.com could be up and running in 20 min.