PDA

View Full Version : BBQ Boot from Wyoming

WyomingLawDog
08-15-2014, 02:08 PM
Hello, being a newbie from Wyoming. Great forum with lots of help that I have been able to read. I moved to Wyoming 10 years ago from St. Louis Missouri. I am a Police Officer, started my police career in St. Louis just about 2 miles from where the Ferguson riots had been going on prior to moving to Wyoming in 2004. Anyway, I grew up around BBQ in Missouri but was not much BBQ in Wyoming when I first moved here 10 years ago, even though it is catching on finally in the cowboy state. Pork is slowing being excepted in Wyoming, was hard to find when I first moved here even though Beef is still king around here. Look forward to learning new BBQ recipes for beef, brisket and smoked prime rib, along with others. I love pork also being raised in Missouri, my favorite is Memphis style BBQ, with dry rub ribs. I have been interested in competition BBQ for some time and a huge fan of BBQ shows such as BBQ pit masters. Always looking to learn and improve. I currently own a cheap Char-Broil offset smoker/grill. I am currently looking to purchase a Yoder 1500 pellet smoker this coming winter before spring 2015 hits. I am not all that far off from being able to retire and would love to do competition BBQ when I retire. I have been listening to some advice and decided to become a certified BBQ judge first, going to my class September 18th in Spearfish SD, looking forward to it. Learn to be a good judge first before I take a step into becoming a cook in competition BBQ. Anyway, thanks for letting me be a part of this forum, lots of great advice. Brad

Thingfish
08-15-2014, 04:26 PM
It sounds like you're ready to do some cooking, Brad. welcome to the forum!

Blythewood BBQ'er
08-15-2014, 05:14 PM
Welcome to the Brethren!

IamMadMan
08-15-2014, 05:54 PM
Welcome to the forum WyomingLawDog, glad to have you join us and take part in the other forums here.