PDA

View Full Version : Need advice

Rusty Kettle
01-31-2014, 11:52 AM
Ok so I need some serious help with how to teach my wife to cook barbecue she wants to be on a team with me and it is my first year I will be competing. I figured since she can cook great food in the kitchen it would be easy to teach her to cook bbq on a weber kettle. Her first attempt was terrible flavor wise it was nasty. I don't want to hurt her feelings because she is my wife but good god I literally threw up and had to swallow it back down. It was salty to the extreme. It was so strong and the flavors clashed so badly. Her idea of a dry rub was salt pepper and garlic. Then she matched it with a home made bbq sauce that was made with dr pepper. The sauce was fine by itself but it was horrible on chicken. It did nothing to compliment the meat it just was over the top gross. I am shocked because her cooking in a kitchen is spectacular I mean the best food I have ever had. She wants to cook brisket and ribs and I am afraid she is not going to do well at all. We have plans as long as I can get off of work to do a comp in April yep in April. I want to have her as a team mate but she is not even remotely ready at all. She rarely practices and asks the same questions over and over again that she should know the answers to by now. If she wasn't my wife I would just kick her off the team for never practicing and not listening at all to me when she wants me to teach her what I know it may not be comp knowledge but seriously when something tastes bad it is bad. Any ideas how to fix this without hurting her feelings?

wrenfro12
01-31-2014, 11:59 AM
Rule 1) Don't tell her about his site!!!!!!!!!!! If she reads this you will never be heard from again.

Rule 2) read rule 1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tiki Wolf
01-31-2014, 12:18 PM