PDA

View Full Version : 1st Comp this summer

Nocode27
12-14-2013, 08:26 PM
I will be competing for the first time this year. I have been smoking for many years but just never had desire to comp. I visited the comp last year and sampled the food and the quality is what drove me to want to compete. Is there any advice for a rookie like myself? Thanks in advance

SITM BBQ
12-14-2013, 08:52 PM
Do a complete practice comp at home in the yard, learn your timing and what you need/ don't need.

Nocode27
12-14-2013, 10:10 PM
Thanks for advice that's a great idea

rtboswell
12-15-2013, 04:56 AM
I just started competing this year, so I was in your position not that long ago. Here are a few tips from a fellow new competitor:

1. I'd +1 doing a full-on practice run at home in your yard or driveway as if you were at a competition. Check out this link:http://howtobbqright.com/competitionbbq.html for a checklist of stuff you might need. I used that list as a starting point and added/subtracted from there. I'd haul all the stuff you think you'll need out to your practice site and set up as if you were really at a comp, including tents, tables, etc. Even better if you know the site size (10x20, 20x20 are common ones) mark it off and stay within it.

2. +1 again on a timeline. Look at the timeline the Killer Hogs have put together at the link above and work out one similar for yourself and whatever rules/meats you will be following. I write my schedule out in a very detailed way and post it so I can keep up with it. I practiced my timing quite a few times before my first competition and between comps as well without the whole site setup.

Take notes whenever you cook and note what worked/didn't work, etc.