PDA

View Full Version : Long time listener, First time caller

JIMMYCHOPIT
10-23-2013, 08:36 AM
Okay.... I am going to try this ONE MORE TIME! I was trying to do an intro but for some reason I am internet dumb today.
I am not good at these things, so it will be short/sweet.
JimmyChopIt for Central Ohio, married with 2 kids that are quickly growing up (too fast!)
I am a hotrodder at heart :crazy:, I was raised around all things hotrod and mechanical. I worked factory maintenance for years, turned fabricator, and I currently run a successful independent bodyshop. I have been a griller for most of my adult life and have recently turned smoker thanks to the wife and kids buying me a square upright gas smoker for Father's Day a couple of years ago. After some trial and error, mods and upgrades I now have that contraption running smooth. So being the type of guy that I am, I guess I didn't have enough cooking tools up my sleeve to give me a challenge with (grille, smoker, turkey fryer, firepit) I decided 'Hey I know! I'll build me one of those UDS!' so here I am today. I acquired a 55gal corn syrup barrel with the lovely tan liner and open top and flat lid. After hours of burning, sanding and welding, I now have a squeaky clean bare metal barrel. And since I run a bodyshop...well you know where I am going with this, I don't know how 'UGLY' this UDS will be...
Anyways enough jibber-jabber from me, I'll just post a pic of this thing as progress is made on it.

93vpmod
10-23-2013, 08:40 AM
Great looking UDS...love the handle!

Welcome!

Ron_L
10-23-2013, 08:42 AM
Welocme to the asylum!

Tell us a little about yourself!

JIMMYCHOPIT
10-23-2013, 08:51 AM
https://scontent-b-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/1381434_613650955340748_1952335306_n.jpg

IamMadMan
10-23-2013, 11:10 PM
Welcome aboard JimmyChopit, glad to have you as a fellow Brethren here.

Interesting UDS you have there, I like the handles.