PDA

View Full Version : Competition Question on beef

Shagdog
09-18-2013, 08:58 PM
So... I'm just starting out in competition BBQ. I've been a student of it for longer than I care to count, but finally got around to dipping my toe in the competitive pool. Did a ribs only cook off last weekend and placed 4th in both Dry and Wet. I'll take it for my first outing. :grin:

Anyway, we're doing another small one this weekend. 3 categories - ribs, chicken, and beef. I'm good with the ribs and chicken, but for beef they say "Any cut you want" Anybody heard of this? Set up starts at 7:30 and turn in for beef is at 1, so unless I do a very small brisket hot and fast, seems like that's out. What is typical for something like this? What should I avoid? My mind went straight to bourbon soaked Prime Ribeye steak. Is that a good idea? How would you even present that to 6 judges? Preslice it like a brisket? 6 small steaks in a box? Thanks for any help you guys have.

BillyVoltaire
09-18-2013, 09:40 PM
How about a nice tri-tip?

BV

Ron_L
09-18-2013, 09:49 PM
What are the rules for turn in? Do you need a specific number of pieces?

Shagdog
09-18-2013, 10:39 PM
It's pretty vague. I know that there's 6 judges and they are supplying boxes. I'm trying to find out the box size and if its one or 6 boxes per category turn in.

This is a small town Q off fund raiser for a children's hospital, put on by the hardware store, so I'm not surprised the rules are lacking. Just wondered if anyone has any advice or insight on an "any cut" beef submission.

A tri tip is a pretty good idea too!

Scottie
09-18-2013, 11:03 PM
Beef tenderloin

jeffturnerjr
09-18-2013, 11:59 PM
I kind of like your prime rib idea. I think I would take the slices and cut them in half. That way, you could put 6 in comfortably.

Also, maybe beef ribs?

Hawg Father of Seoul
09-19-2013, 01:05 AM