PDA

View Full Version : Just Flats

akoda
09-18-2013, 07:46 AM
Does anyone just smoke flats at competitions? or at least you could separate flat and point prior to smoking, correct?

bigzthamoose
09-18-2013, 08:20 AM
Havent done it at a competition yet, but I have tried it every once in awhile at home, when i decided i didnt want to worry about seperating a smokin hot piece of meat halfway through! =) They both turned out great without the point on during the cook. So i dont know. HOld your judgement for someone more worthy of giving you advice, im just a rookie.

akoda
09-18-2013, 08:23 AM
I guess the question could have been how many don't make burnt ends or can you make good burnt ends with a flat. I attempted burnt ends and I am missing something :) besides good flavor ;)

Havent done it at a competition yet, but I have tried it every once in awhile at home, when i decided i didnt want to worry about seperating a smokin hot piece of meat halfway through! =) They both turned out great without the point on during the cook. So i dont know. HOld your judgement for someone more worthy of giving you advice, im just a rookie.

INmitch
09-18-2013, 08:40 AM
I trim at home before comps. I only cook flats, no burnt ends. I've had a little success doing it this way.
The point n trimmings make awesome (but expensive) burgers!

Pole D
09-18-2013, 08:43 AM
I've personally only cooked packers but I might be cooking flats this weekend as I'm having a hard time finding a good packer! Note to self: Don't wait until the week of the comp to purchase the meats!

I do know of several teams that cook flats only. They just don't put ends in the box. Not including them is a better option than putting bad ones in.

Lowki
09-18-2013, 09:23 AM