PDA

View Full Version : A competition question.


Bentley
07-24-2013, 06:55 PM
Regarding a KCBS competition...Can a Chief cook on a team compete on Team X as the Chief cook and also be just a team member on Team Z at the same contest?

If you answer can you post the rule to back up your answer please?

Edit: Never mind...

2) Each team shall consist of a chief cook and as many assistants as the chief cook deems necessary. A team shall not compete in more than one KCBS sanctioned contest under the same team name, on the same date. Chief cooks and/or assistant cooks may only cook for their designated team at the contest they are attending.

Looks like it has changed in the last 11 years...Although I am not real clear on the highlighted area...Why cant I be a designated Chief Cook on one team and a designated assistant cook on another team?

Know Bull
07-24-2013, 07:30 PM
you missed the "and/or". Covers that situation.

Bentley
07-24-2013, 08:04 PM
I understand that, I guess this is the better question...

Why cant I be a designated Chief Cook on one team and a designated assistant cook on another team?


you missed the "and/or". Covers that situation.

Slamdunkpro
07-24-2013, 08:20 PM
(Not trying to be flip)

The short answer is "Because it's against the rules"

Ron_L
07-24-2013, 08:20 PM
The way I read that rule is that you can be both at the two competitions on the same date. I don't think it covers being the chief cook on one team at one comp on a given date and then a team member on another team at a different competition on another date.

Bentley
07-24-2013, 08:53 PM
It would be the same competition...but two separate teams.

The way I read that rule is that you can be both at the two competitions on the same date.

Balls Casten
07-24-2013, 09:08 PM
I'll bite ... Why do you want to do this?

Hawg Father of Seoul
07-24-2013, 09:22 PM
There is no grey area in the rule.

Hawg Father of Seoul
07-24-2013, 09:25 PM
2) Each team shall consist of a chief cook and as many assistants as the chief cook deems necessary. A team shall not compete in more than one KCBS sanctioned contest under the same team name, on the same date. Chief cooks and/or assistant cooks may only cook for their designated team at the contest they are attending.



The word only and that team is singular. That is the key.

Bentley
07-24-2013, 09:25 PM
Just a competition where the opportunity arises where I would like to cook it as in the example, but it does not appear it will be allowed.

I'll bite ... Why do you want to do this?

Bentley
07-24-2013, 09:28 PM
I am not looking to get around it. I would be curious to know the KCBS reasoning behind it, but I doubt that will ever happen.

There is no grey area in the rule.

Candy Sue
07-24-2013, 09:33 PM
Teams will be identified for team of the year by chief cook member number. That's why notice went out a while ago to KCBS cooks, to have your card handy (or a current Bullsheet, number is in the mailing address). If you are the chief cook of your team, it'd be registered under your number. If you are assisting with another team, you shouldn't be the chief cook of record.

Bentley
07-24-2013, 09:48 PM
Correct, that is the reason why I can't figure out the reasoning behind the rule.

Points mean nothing to me as a team...I realized that is not a reason not to have a rule. I just can't figure out why it would matter if I was a Chief Cook on one team and an assistant cook on another team at the same contest?

Do you have any idea the reasoning behind the rule and why it can't be done? I mean, as an assistant cook, the points are a moot issue anyway right?

Or am I just not seeing something simple?

Teams will be identified for team of the year by chief cook member number. That's why notice went out a while ago to KCBS cooks, to have your card handy (or a current Bullsheet, number is in the mailing address). If you are the chief cook of your team, it'd be registered under your number. If you are assisting with another team, you shouldn't be the chief cook of record.

kenthanson
07-24-2013, 11:32 PM
I would like to think that it would prevent stacking... If that's the correct term. If you are a very good team that regularly GC's and you go into a smaller comp that still has a decent purse, you could submit your team and another team which you aren't the head cook for points but you run two tents and two smokers side by side and do the meat all the same. Than when awards come and you and your partners teams finish 1 and 2 and take over 70% of the cash.

Hawg Father of Seoul
07-24-2013, 11:44 PM
Not trying to be an antagonist here, but there are three other guys that cook with me at times. If this rule was not in place we could cook as two or three teams in a contest.

There is a husband/wife who does something similar in IBCA. You are never quite sure which pit the meat came off. Funny thing is that IBCA pits (intended) all entries against each other. Wife's entry 6th, husband's 7th. Damn near every time.

Edited to add, I am slow...

BigBellyBBQ
07-25-2013, 02:18 AM
if you have 3 people then you can create three teams, 3 seperate cooking areas, 3 different cookers...

Gowan
07-25-2013, 04:32 AM
Try this question then:

Team A has four guys.
Team B is a solo cook.
At a contest, A & B are set up next to each other.

If one of the guys from Team A runs the boxes for Team B to help him out, is that a rules violation?

Nordy
07-25-2013, 08:58 AM
I think the rule is clear.

Two teams can't have the same "chicken guy" cooking chicken at a given contest... However the "chicken guy" can cook for one team one weekend and a different team the next...

Pelkster
07-25-2013, 10:57 AM
Try this question then:

Team A has four guys.
Team B is a solo cook.
At a contest, A & B are set up next to each other.

If one of the guys from Team A runs the boxes for Team B to help him out, is that a rules violation?

I've been at comps where this happens. My team mates have volunteered, but always turned down. Running boxes, in my humble opinion, is not being an assistant cook.

As far as being the head guy of one team and an assistant on another at the same comp, I feel that is a violation of the rules. Not to mention, how could you find time to do your own cook AND help out with someone elses? I have barely enough time for my own, and that is with a team of 2 or 3 experienced guys.

Bentley
07-25-2013, 11:13 AM
I am not sure that this matters, but these would be two separate teams at two distinct sites and distinct units for cooking at the contest.

But it is not allowed, so I wont be trying it. I have not been looking for a way to circumvent the rules, just trying to figure out why the rule is in effect. kenthanson response is as plausible explanation as I have seen and short an explanation from KCBS is as close as I may get.

Vince RnQ
07-25-2013, 02:40 PM
Try sending an e-mail to Jeff Stith. He's the Chair of the KCBS Rules Committee. Let him find the reason for the rule and report back to you.

Bentley
07-25-2013, 03:02 PM
Just did...will see what the response is.

gettinbasted
07-25-2013, 03:36 PM
So you are wanting to help another team beat your own team? Am I missing something?

Stacking has to be the answer, otherwise my wife could enter as the head cook of her own team, we could both help each other, and double our chances of finishing DAL!

Bentley
07-25-2013, 03:55 PM
As someone said earlier, the short answer is I cook on more then one team...And it so happens that both of these teams would be at one specific contest each year.

gettinbasted
07-25-2013, 04:02 PM
As someone said earlier, the short answer is I cook on more then one team...And it so happens that both of these teams would be at one specific contest each year.

I was just giving you a hard time. I know several people this could affect. I would think it would come into play with someone wanting to assist multiple teams from time to time.

Cayman1
07-25-2013, 06:34 PM
Brad, sounds like we might need a long distance runner this weekend. If we had one we could share him, shouldn't be a rules problem. Not sure my teammate can make 4 trips that far, we're old!

gettinbasted
07-25-2013, 07:30 PM
Brad, sounds like we might need a long distance runner this weekend. If we had one we could share him, shouldn't be a rules problem. Not sure my teammate can make 4 trips that far, we're old!

I will jog them both over! I am in mid season BBQ shape!

Bentley
07-27-2013, 07:51 PM
No response to my email yet...

Try sending an e-mail to Jeff Stith. He's the Chair of the KCBS Rules Committee. Let him find the reason for the rule and report back to you.

Vince RnQ
07-29-2013, 03:58 PM
No response to my email yet...

He's on Facebook too.

BMerrill
08-02-2013, 10:05 AM
@ Bentley, I'll be cooking at that same contest, so it could be 3 teams at the same time. .... but you have to cook the chicken....

Candy Sue
08-02-2013, 02:19 PM
No response to my email yet...

Bentley, try sending to rules@kcbs.us. That gets everyone on the rules committee discussing it.

Bentley
08-02-2013, 04:03 PM
I will forward the original right now...thanks.

Bentley, try sending to rules@kcbs.us. That gets everyone on the rules committee discussing it.

Bentley
08-29-2013, 02:25 PM
No response from anyone!

I guess try it and see what happens!

Bentley, try sending to rules@kcbs.us. That gets everyone on the rules committee discussing it.