PDA

View Full Version : How many of you practice

cottonquick
04-11-2013, 03:53 PM
I've been cooking with a group for several years now. We don't make a ton of events, maybe 10 a year. I hear about a lot of teams that practice between events and throughout the year. Since we never practice, I was wondering if we were the norm, or the exception to the rule?

Big Ugly's BBQ
04-11-2013, 03:56 PM
Been practicing all winter, between cooks, trying different stuff........

Gig'em99
04-11-2013, 04:06 PM
Every time I cook in the back yard, I consider it practice. I pay attention to look, feel, flavors, tenderness, temp/timing, etc.

My team actually gets together 1 or 2 times a year outside of competitions to either compete internally, (where we'll all cook our version of a meat and ask the neighbors to judge) or occasionally we'll get together for a party or something and cook/use it as practice. The internal comps we have, then set who's recipe we're going to use at the next competition. Keeps us working hard, always trying to one-up each other. Hopefully it'll make us better competitors as well.

Cast Iron Chef
04-11-2013, 04:25 PM
As gig said I try something new every time I cook. Not always a full fledged practice but keep trying different combinations of flavors and doneness.

sdbbq1234
04-11-2013, 04:26 PM
We practice, but not as much as I think we should.

But, that being said, we are doing a full blown practice tomorrow and Saturday adhering to turn in times, boxes, the whole enchilada.

Everything will probably be great; then when comp time rolls around at Salisbury, I'll suddenly have a momentary lapse of reason. :oops:

wallace

fnbish
04-11-2013, 04:29 PM