PDA

View Full Version : Entry level smoker suggestions?

thefabledpig
04-03-2013, 07:12 PM
Hello, just wanting to get up and running ninja style.
1. I need something to cook on.
2. I drive a tiny hatchback.
3. I have a tiny budget <100

I have considered turning a retro fridge into a smoking rig, but am concerned about lead paint.

I do not mind being creative or unconventional, but want to keep it simple.

I am a ceramic artist and I own a kiln, any chance I could make my own egg style cooker?

I just want to make some food my papa would be proud of.

Any ideas?

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
04-03-2013, 07:19 PM
A 22.5" Weber One-Touch Silver is my suggestion. Very versatile grill and can be used for smoking.

jketron
04-03-2013, 07:47 PM
WSM and put it in the passenger seat

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
04-03-2013, 07:57 PM
I just noticed that you have this in the Competetion forum. Are you planning to compete with this smoker?

landarc
04-03-2013, 08:01 PM
That's what I was thinking, for under $100 and to compete, man, about the only thing would be a couple of Weber kettles used. Look for 22.5" models. There is just about nothing else for that price and will fit into a hatchback.

Parruthead
04-03-2013, 08:26 PM
I think you could fab up some mini WSM's and cook on those and they should fit in your hatch back... I would scour for a Full sized WSM and try and use one of those and a kettle.

thefabledpig
04-03-2013, 08:57 PM
I am planning to compete :)

Ron_L
04-03-2013, 09:17 PM

What type of competitions? That makes a huge difference.

If you're serious about the $100 budget, then the suggestion for a Weber kettle would be good for home, but limiting at competitions. For that budget, I would suggest build a UDS.

But, one may not be enough, and what about all of the other stuff that you will need?

JD McGee
04-03-2013, 09:32 PM