PDA

View Full Version : KCBS Membership & BOD Candidate Disappointment

Smokgineer
01-14-2013, 07:38 PM
I am mainly a lurker on the forum and spend most of my time reading posts and trying to learn something new from those with much more experience. But in this case I feel that sharing is something that someone may find a small amount of value in (read very small if you like). I am not trying to insight problems, and if you disagree please enlighten me.

I joined KCBS last summer when I took a CBJ class with intentions of judging/competing someday. That being said I am mainly a backyard cook who is a KCBS member. It is clear that KCBS is a sanctioning body, but what about the average joe. There are few benefits in being a member if you don't compete, judge or rep. Restaurant depot is great, but Costco, Sams or even the local butcher or internet can easily replace it for the backyard cook. I was disappointed to see minimal BOD candidates advocating for this segment of members. Those that did, only referred to the community as a whole. I did vote, but doubt I will re-up my membership and vote again as KCBS seems to only cater to those who are involved in competition in some way. The BOD candidates seemed to reiterate and support this notion.

It seems to me that if KCBS really wants to become a "community" for BBQ'ers of all types, it would make sense to pay as much attention to the greater BBQ community as they do to the competition community.

Just my 2 cents. I thought I would share my overall disappointment with joining KCBS as a non-competing member. I think my money would be better spent on a subscription here, which is exactly what I plan on doing rather than rejoining KCBS.

(mods can move this to "for the board" per http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-119131.html if they wish, but I am really not addressing them as much as the other members)

Pappy Q
01-14-2013, 07:49 PM