PDA

View Full Version : Wolf Quick Reference Sheet


NZDaz
12-03-2012, 06:21 PM
I have tried to put together a quick reference sheet based from Toronto's Dog manual and Wangs manual on his allchinas website.
My goal is to have something that is around one or two pages length total so it can be one sheet laminated.
I am aiming for more of a reminder then a from basics guide, ie this wont tell you how to move the cursor in a menu.

This is what I have so far, as I said it is heavily based on Toronto's manual just condensed and with the meat temp side of the wolf added to it. My question is... Have I got everything right so far? I am more then happy for others to edit and change this too.

This is a cut and paste from a word document where the formating is alot neater, this avoids having download sites etc.

Wolf Quick Reference Sheet

Menu 1 Set1

SC = Desired temp
RC = Time at temp -if there is no SC2 does this have any effect?
AL = Low temp alarm set point
AH = High temp alarm set point
Set SC2, SC3 and SC4 if multiple temp set points are desired otherwise set SC2 000 to disable.

Menu 2 Set1

F-C =F, C selection. 0000 = Celsius, 0001 = Fahrenheit
SL1 = leave at 1111 for BBQ use
SL2 = leave at 1011 for BBQ use
HdC = Maximum fan speed, use to scale large fan down. Represented in percentage.

Menu 3 Set1

For PID 0000 is sensitive – 9999 unresponsive. Default P,I,D = 0030,0240,0060
P= Proportional – The further the temp is out the more the fan blows (or doesn’t blow)
I = Integral – Like P but gets stronger longer the temp is out
D = Derivative – Reacts to the rate of change of the temp
AR = Leave default 0100
T = Leave default 0000
Pb = Use to calibrate probe
UdC = Minimum fan speed, default 0000
LCK = Lock paramaters, leave default 0000

Meat Temp Menu Set2

P1 = Target Meat Temp
T = Time to hold meat at P1 measured in minutes
P2 = Holding Temp after P1 reached.
P3 = Maximum PIT temp. Used when meat probe is in control.
When P1=0, meat probe will be for monitoring only, not for control.
When turn off/on power, it will continue last mode.
When you press "AT/M", it will forget auto session.

Toronto
12-04-2012, 09:43 AM
RC = Time at temp -if there is no SC2 does this have any effect?


On the Dog if you set SC2 0000, it will bring you back to the main menu, you wont even have the option of entering in RC2 temp.

You might have issues editing your quick reference guide, this forum has a time limit on editing your post.

NZDaz
12-04-2012, 01:31 PM
On the Dog if you set SC2 0000, it will bring you back to the main menu, you wont even have the option of entering in RC2 temp.

You might have issues editing your quick reference guide, this forum has a time limit on editing your post.

Yeah thats the same as the Wolf. I was wondering if RC1 does anything if SC2 is 0000. So if there is no next stage for it to progress onto will it just stay at the current stage even after time expires?

Ill try this live document for editing. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OV3i6olAK0378HJ_qxBlkuaSfEDj3j-GcDX8BdZw6co/edit Please feel free to update this as you see fit. Everyone has full editing capability so please don't delete everything!

Toronto
12-04-2012, 01:57 PM
Im not sure I usually set it to 720 minutes(this seems to be the max) and ive never used up all that time.

Thats a cool site for the live editing.

Corky
12-04-2012, 07:02 PM
Which setting controls the fan output. I ahve seen references to that (setting a percentage) but haven't figured it out.

Toronto
12-04-2012, 07:57 PM
HdC = Maximum fan speed, use to scale large fan down. Represented in percentage.

So there are 2 factors that control your fan output.

1. The CFM of your fan (10 or 50)

2. The value of HdC (0000-0100, this is expressed in a percentage so that means it can only be a number from 0 all the way to 100)

Example: If you have a 10CFM fan and you set your HdC value to 0025 then;

10CFM * 25% = 2.5CFM will be your max fan output.

NZDaz
12-05-2012, 02:02 PM
Using the default PID settings on a ceramic kamado cooker for a long cook yesterday I found I was getting pretty big temp swings.

I wasn't too worried for the cook but would like to get the swings down.
Does anyone use a ceramic kamado with one of Wangs products at all? If so what are your PID settings?

woodpelletsmoker
12-05-2012, 06:00 PM
You need to tune P,I,D for your very own personal pit.
and please do not disturb during meantime, say open cover.

Toronto
12-05-2012, 06:30 PM
From what ive been reading people with Kamado or BGE type smokers have issues with controllers. Most of them were able to over come it by bringing up the heat extremely slowly. The issue is almost all controllers overshoot your target temp and then allow it to drop naturally but the ceramic cookers retain the heat too well and if the fire is brought up too fast it over shoots way too much and never recovers.

Set it to a less responsive PID and work your way up until you hit an ideal setting.

woodpelletsmoker
12-05-2012, 06:50 PM
1.set speed of fan as low as possible.
2.block most flue. Let teh fire is controlled by controller other than natural draft.
3.set a little bigger of P, then it will take longer time to reach targeted temp. but less swing

NZDaz
12-09-2012, 11:29 PM
From what ive been reading people with Kamado or BGE type smokers have issues with controllers. Most of them were able to over come it by bringing up the heat extremely slowly. The issue is almost all controllers overshoot your target temp and then allow it to drop naturally but the ceramic cookers retain the heat too well and if the fire is brought up too fast it over shoots way too much and never recovers.

Set it to a less responsive PID and work your way up until you hit an ideal setting.

Cheers,

I reckon I may make P less responsive as you say, and get rid of I and D.
Heating it up most of the way on manual may help.

Mapleleaf
12-10-2012, 10:16 AM
...so Toronto you set your run time on SC1 to 720 with SC2 ="0000"?

What happens if the time runs out on SC1 with SC2 disabled? Does the controller keep working?

Toronto
12-10-2012, 04:32 PM
If you do the math, 720 mins = 12 hours, ive never done a cook with the Dog that went over 6 hours.

If I recall correctly if the timer runs out it just goes into manual mode with --:-- blinking on the display, I could be wrong of course.

EDIT: Taken from my dog manual

Q: My SV display is blinking - - : - -
A: This signifies your TC timer set in Menu #1 has expired.

woodpelletsmoker
12-10-2012, 05:34 PM
"--:--" means that program ends normally. NO more output, no automatic, no manual

NZDaz
12-10-2012, 08:04 PM
Can RC1 (First timer) be disabled at all? ie set to 0.

I guess its not really an issue, if you need a longer cook then 12 hours for some reason then you could just set SC2 with the same temps and RC2 for another 12 hours.

jetfxr27
12-10-2012, 10:11 PM
Love the thread!

woodpelletsmoker
12-10-2012, 11:03 PM
Can RC1 (First timer) be disabled at all? ie set to 0.

I guess its not really an issue, if you need a longer cook then 12 hours for some reason then you could just set SC2 with the same temps and RC2 for another 12 hours.
One day when New Zealand swifts to south pole and you want COLD smoking fish, you may want to set RC1=0. In other places your pit must be over 0 already, if you set RC1 =0, the controller will never need to work

Toronto
12-11-2012, 09:54 AM
"--:--" means that program ends normally. NO more output, no automatic, no manual

Good to know.

I guess if you want to go over the 12 hour limit you can just set stage 2 to the exact same parameters for another 12 hour cook like NZDaz suggested.

Mapleleaf
12-11-2012, 10:45 AM
"--:--" means that program ends normally. NO more output, no automatic, no manual

So what happens if the program ends before the cooking is done..do you just reboot (reset) the controller? I'm thinking some cooking may go over 12 hrs. Just curioss.

I like the idea of initailizing SC2 and setting a time limit in that phase. That makes sense.

woodpelletsmoker
12-11-2012, 06:58 PM
it has 4 stages, totally it is long enough.
If program ends normally, and you want to continue, just press button "auto/man"
It will start again