PDA

View Full Version : Starting a contest

K-Train
09-28-2012, 07:43 PM
Howdy,
I'm a teacher and mentioned about a year ago to my principal how a little cook-off might be cool to draw attention to some of the programs we have at our school. Flash forward to a few weeks ago, my principal came to our last cook-ff of the year and now is full into the idea. He's already started contacting officials at our school board and has gotten some approval. I'm trying to convince him that a chicken/rib contest would be the best way to go.One idea I have is to take select students from our school and have them "cook" with the teams that enter. Not sure how that would go over though. I also thought maybe we could just invite the other schools in our county to cook and have it be a school vs school contest, maybe with some local brethren:grin: as guest judges along with school big wigs. Throw in some kind of peoples choice as a fund raiser and get local business to sponsor. Maybe even have our students make the trophies in our Technology Education class (shop class). I think he has visions of grandour with pro teams cooking.
Any advice any of you could offer would be awesome. Thanks in advance.
Keith

Teamfour
09-28-2012, 07:50 PM
I think having students cook with teams is a great idea. But I would amass the student participants via a totally random lottery. Identifying "select" students is asking for trouble.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

K-Train
09-28-2012, 07:55 PM
^^^^^^^I hear ya. We would set up some kind of parameters, no dicsipline referrals, following our school honor code, etc. Then put those students into a lottery or something. Something else I gotta figure out.

columbia1
09-28-2012, 09:21 PM