PDA

View Full Version : RECIPE MODULE IS BACK UP AND RUNNING


BBQchef33
11-10-2005, 08:09 PM
Its up. :mrgreen:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/cookbook/

I am loading our old recipes now and will have links on the home page and a quicklink to it on the forum "quicklink" drop down.

I left 100 or so of the stock recipes that came with the software and will try to re-catagorize so there are not as many BS catagories, but

at least we got one back. Enjoy!!

BrooklynQ
11-10-2005, 08:38 PM
Thanks Phil. Great work and greatly appreciated.

chargriller
11-10-2005, 08:50 PM
I like it also, thanks.

Jeff_in_KC
11-10-2005, 08:51 PM
Phil, that is awesome!!! And this used to be here earlier?? I like the fact that we can add recipes and that recipes can be tried then rated and reviewed so we know what's good before we try them! THANK YOU!!!

BrooklynQ
11-10-2005, 09:02 PM
I just submitted a recipe. It says it will be posted as soon as it's reviewed by the recipe admin. What you don't have enough to do already? I'll volunteer for this if you want to pass it off.

Jeff_in_KC
11-10-2005, 09:19 PM
I uploaded my chili recipe too! Just made it this morning and I'm full as a tick now!

I'm willing to help also if need be. This is a cool feature!

BBQchef33
11-10-2005, 09:31 PM
I just submitted a recipe. It says it will be posted as soon as it's reviewed by the recipe admin. What you don't have enough to do already? I'll volunteer for this if you want to pass it off.

SORRY.... Should have told u before. Dont add anything tonight. i am in the middle of transfering the data over.

I;ll most likly just turn off approvals. If people start posting junk, we can turn it on.

Jeff_in_KC
11-10-2005, 10:19 PM
Oh crap! LOL! I'm such a slow typist! Wish I'd copied and pasted that into a Word doc temprarily before I posted it! Oh well...

BBQchef33
11-10-2005, 10:22 PM
Oh crap! LOL! I'm such a slow typist! Wish I'd copied and pasted that into a Word doc temprarily before I posted it! Oh well...


i'll copy it out before i overlay the file.

Kevin
11-11-2005, 05:32 AM
Thanks Phil, you are one dedicated individual.

Trout_man22
11-11-2005, 05:34 AM
Thanks

Jeff_in_KC
11-11-2005, 07:35 AM
Phil, if you haven't already done it, don't worry about it. I'll just re-type later. You have enough to take care of!

Smoker
11-11-2005, 07:44 AM
AWESOME,

Dis place gets betta & betta.

Steve

Arlin_MacRae
11-11-2005, 08:45 AM
Thanks Phil!!!!

qman
11-11-2005, 08:57 AM
Thanks, Phil. "preciate all your hard work.

Ron_L
11-11-2005, 09:27 AM
Looks great! Thanks!

icemn62
11-11-2005, 10:24 AM
Thanks Phil for all the hard work, and I thought I was going to be bored at work today.

Neil
11-11-2005, 10:38 AM
Thanks Phil, I hope you realize we all appreciate your work.

ggeilman
11-11-2005, 11:26 AM
My thanks also:)

brdbbq
11-11-2005, 12:13 PM
Xxxooo

MoKanMeathead
11-11-2005, 12:20 PM
Excellent - thanks Phil!!! I can see this getting filled with some awsume recipies.

Jeff_in_KC
11-11-2005, 03:59 PM
Excellent - thanks Phil!!! I can see this getting filled with some awsume recipies.

I have the perfect recipe for the "For Your Pets" section... smoked bologna!!!!! :twisted:

BBQchef33
11-11-2005, 06:41 PM
ITS


DONE..


GO PLAY!!


:mrgreen:


http://www.bbq-brethren.com/cookbook/



Footnote.
formatting of some of the BRETHREN recipes may be a lkittle goofy. the new software likes you to enter things in 2 columns, whereas our other software was single column. So u may see some text in a strange spot, under commets or instructions. Anything really bad, PM me and i will edit it.

Sawdustguy
11-11-2005, 06:59 PM
Great job Cheif!

dxesmkr
11-11-2005, 07:34 PM
Phil,
Thanks for a job well done.

Willy T.

nmayeux
11-11-2005, 07:57 PM
Ok, I added my basic jambalaya recipe, but I would like to edit it. Is this possible, or does the administrator/poob have to fix? I just wanted to say that the spices are very flexible, and that you can add fresh chopped garlic to the oil when making a roux. Anyway, the new section is great, and I hope that y'all will like the recipe.

BBQchef33
11-11-2005, 08:03 PM
Ok, I added my basic jambalaya recipe, but I would like to edit it. Is this possible, or does the administrator/poob have to fix?


good question.. I gotta check that one out.



but right now.. im goin ice skating for a few hours.

hold down da fart while Im gone.

nmayeux
11-11-2005, 09:01 PM
I'm having a little trouble holding down the fart! Its a little easier in bed, but my wife is usually not too appreciative! DUTCH OVEN!!!!!!

brdbbq
11-12-2005, 07:11 AM
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/10/10_15_5.gif........Ah

BBQchef33
11-12-2005, 09:07 AM
Ok.. it seems its pretty much finished and live. Put on the final tweaks late last night and turned our "Recipes" button back on on the Homepage.

Access to the module is easiest from our homepage which can be gotten to directly from either the "QUICK LINKS" drop down at the top, or the Navagation Bar at the bottom of the forums. I was going to add it to our Navbar, but the new front end and latest version of the forum will require me to redo it. Figure this is way is easiest.

Also, for those that didnt know, we also have a bunch of "freeform" recipes in our file sections. That section is for instances where you have a recipe allready typed up and don't feel like retyping it in a formatted module. It can just be uploaded/downloaded to the files section.

Unfortunatly, it does not look like you can edit a recipe once its up. it can only be done by admin. I will see if i can put the EDIT function into the user screens, but since the system is not user/login based, anyone will be able to edit any recipe. Which means an "unregistered" user can come in and trash it. Not sure how we want to do that. I think its safest if I show the moderators, or a few members how to edit and if something needs changes, a PM or a post with the changes can be done by them or I.


Oh.. and thanks for all the "thank yous" and acknowledgments. :oops: :-D Some people bust my chops for doing all this stuff:evil: , but those appreciative responses speak much louder. :smile: So thank you all too. More to come.

brdbbq
11-12-2005, 09:13 AM
Let me know if'in you need help sweetie. :cool:

nmayeux
11-12-2005, 12:12 PM
Hey, if it wasn't for your hard work, we would be surfin' somewhere else!
Thanks,

nmayeux
11-12-2005, 12:13 PM
Let me know if'in you need help sweetie. :cool:
BRD,
How far are you from Houston, cause when I visit my sister next year you and I will have to see what happens when you mix a couple of Brethren with a half gallon of Jim Beam!

brdbbq
11-12-2005, 12:52 PM
BRD,
How far are you from Houston, cause when I visit my sister next year you and I will have to see what happens when you mix a couple of Brethren with a half gallon of Jim Beam!

~About5 hours I think ? 20 Miles North of dallas

nmayeux
11-12-2005, 01:18 PM
Would I be able to use your phone?

brdbbq
11-12-2005, 02:51 PM
Would I be able to use your phone?

Before Jim YES After I Doubt it....8)

elvis67
11-13-2005, 04:28 PM
Iam getting message that says "page cannot be used by remote servers or outside the proper path" then kicks me back to recipe page

Kevin
11-13-2005, 04:43 PM
elvis, how are you trying to access? I just did it from following the link on the first or second post in this thread, and also got there using the quick links drop down at the top of this page, selecting brethren home page, then recipes. Both seemed to work.

Ron_L
11-13-2005, 05:18 PM
On the Cookbook main page, there is a number in parentheses after the category name. I was assuming that this was the number of recipes in that category, but when I go to Brethren Fish, which has a (6) after it, I see a message that says "There are currently no recipes listed in this category". Am I not seeing the recipes, or does the number after the category name mean something different?

BBQchef33
11-13-2005, 06:21 PM
That number is the number of recipes in that catagory. I fixed the fish and Chile catagories. There was an extra space in the record, which stopped them from showing up in the catagory.

thanks Ron..

elvis67
11-13-2005, 10:06 PM
I can get to the recipe page alright but when i click on a recipe i get the message i mentioned above and then kicks me back to recipe page

BBQchef33
11-13-2005, 10:25 PM
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/cookbook/

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/cookbook/viewrecipes.php?category=*BRETHREN%20BEEF*




Elvis... Click those links. tell me what u get.

then click on one of the "non Brethren" recipe catagories like casseroles or one of the ethnic sections on the bottom. See if they work. I think the * in the catagory names may be messing up some browsers.

are you running IE or Firefox?
Do u have cookies enabled for our site?
do you have our site in the trusted zone in your security settings?

BBQchef33
11-14-2005, 03:29 PM
Iam getting message that says "page cannot be used by remote servers or outside the proper path" then kicks me back to recipe page


this should be fixed. Please test it and let me know.

elvis67
11-14-2005, 10:04 PM
this should be fixed. Please test it and let me know. Yep, sure is thanks a bunch, thanks for all of your hard work!!!

BBQchef33
11-14-2005, 11:45 PM
:mrgreen: :wink: :cool: :biggrin:

cabo
11-15-2005, 06:39 PM
this should be fixed. Please test it and let me know.


Iím fixed now too!!!
Thanks Pooh XOXOXO