PDA

View Full Version : Judging contests--My First Experience

Outnumbered
07-23-2012, 10:41 AM
I judged my first contest this weekend and I was flabbergasted by the lack of knowledge and consistency from the judges at my table. This is certainly something the KCBS BOD needs to address, and quickly IMO.

I understand there is no way to get away from subjectivity, but the way judges score needs to be addressed. I was lectured by the table captain and nearly every judge at my table about the need to be liberal because of the time and money the teams put into competing. I agreed to that and explained that I am a competition cook. They shut up immediately and I got the feeling they were intimidated because I may actually know what I'm talking about. (I didn't set them straight, mind you. Truth is, I haven't a clue. :-P)

Four of the judges at my table all took the liberal approach and bragged that they never give a score of less than a 7 and that's only if they see something wrong with it. There was no consensus, however, on what constitutes a 9.

The other judge at my table said her base score is a 6. I told her that was fine and it is actually the way it's supposed to be, but if every other judge gives 8s for average, and she gives us a 6, how are we supposed to take anything away from that? Not blaming her, mind you, since she's technically following rules. But what happens if someone cooks the best BBQ on the planet and the table judges on the 6 scale? Meanwhile mine may be OK, but the table I get uses 8 as average, and I get 9s do I deserve to win?

Furthermore, my table captain looked at me like I had two heads when I started filling out comment cards. In one case, the rib was just plain bad and had a chemical taste to it. I wanted to let the cook know. In the other case I scored down a little on presentation and wanted to let the cook know what kept me from giving them a perfect score across the board.