PDA

View Full Version : Any Success with Desserts?

Piggy_Tummy
04-11-2012, 10:42 PM
Hey all,
I just wanted to pick your brains for a minute. I just signed up for an amateur comp. in Lisle IL. The categories are chicken, ribs, & NO MEAT dish. I asked what tends to be the trend and they say dessert! So my partner and I being chefs by trade think way outside of the box! We were thinking of doing some sort of a chocolate cake topped with smoked caramel and smoked salt. I know that trial and error will be my best way to go, but has anyone had any success with getting a cake to survive a grill? I don't think I will be able to bring an already baked cake, pretty sure I will have to make it on site. Any other dessert ideas youve had success with?

HarleyGirl14226
04-12-2012, 09:08 AM
Unless you can get the temp. on your cooker REALLY consistent, you might have trouble baking a cake...

We've gone with bread pudding in the past... And of course - anytime you can incorporate chocolate into the party - it's a good thing!

HBMTN
04-12-2012, 09:11 AM
We did Baklava one of the few dessert comps we did and finished 3rd in a huge field. I think it would do great at a back yard competition and cooks good on the BBQ at 300 degrees

MAP
04-12-2012, 09:32 AM
I don't mean to highjack the thread but in a chef's choice can you cook on any device, meaning the oven in my RV.

SHBBQ
04-12-2012, 09:42 AM
I don't mean to highjack the thread but in a chef's choice can you cook on any device, meaning the oven in my RV.

prob a question for the rep at the contest.

nthole
04-12-2012, 09:43 AM
We've been able to cook a cheese cake and bread pudding muffins on the smoker without issue. As someone mentioned before getting that temp locked in and stable is really the most critical thing (if you have to cook on a smoker).

SHBBQ
04-12-2012, 09:44 AM