PDA

View Full Version : Golden Tiger PID smoker controller from Ebay - review with lots-o-pics


colonel00
02-21-2012, 07:42 PM
So, as some of you may know, there is a vendor who is a member of this forum that lives in China. He makes PID controllers and sells them on Ebay. Obviously there was some concern with this arrangement and a good discussion in a thread found here (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=123922&highlight=pid). Another forum member purchased the base model and has a review within the thread above. After being involved with that thread and seeing that the seller had genuine intentions and was eager to help, even with a language barrier, I decided to take a chance and ordered the model called the Tiger that comes with a remote. I am glad I did. Granted, I have only had one cook so far and it was a short rib cook. However, I was truly impressed with what I got for a substantial amount less than some of the other controller products out there.

First, here are some of the main features of the base unit. It has a Manual mode where you can adjust the fan speed with the + and - buttons. The fan blows constantly at whatever speed you want. I found this very nice for bringing the UDS up to temp. Then there is Auto mode. This mode can be kind of complex at first but with a little playing I quickly figured it out. In Auto mode there are 4 program sets for the pit temp and one set for the meat temp. For the pit sets, you set the target pit temp, the duration you want that set to run, the high temp alarm and the low temp alarm. This multi-set feature will really be handy when I want to do a hot and fast brisket. I usually like to start the cook at lower temps and then ramp up the temps. With this module I can set it to cook at 225 for an hour or whatever and then go straight up to higher temps or even makes stops along the way for various amounts of time. Now, if you just want to do a simple cook like I did with the ribs, you just set the target temp on the following set to 0 and only the previous set(s) are run in the program. As for the meat set, I have not really played with it so I am only speaking from what I read on the seller's manual but you can set a target meat temp and the controller will adjust the cooker to hold the meat at a certain temp instead of watching the pit temps. If you do not want this feature then again, like with the pit sets, you just set the target temp to 0.

For the remote, the controls are pretty much the same. The only thing you cannot do with the remote is control the fan speed in Manual mode but you can switch from Auto to Manual. Everything else can be done including programming your pit and meat sets. I will describe more about the remote as we go through the pics.

As for everything else, the fan looks decent and came with the pipe nipple adapter that I requested. Not only can I just attach this directly to the ball valve on the UDS but I can also run a hose as you will see in the pics. The probes were a little confusing and I will discuss them more later but I do not have any major concerns at this point at least.

I know I will be forgetting some stuff so please ask any questions if you have them. I actually took notes on my thoughts as I did stuff both during the unboxing and the cook but I have no idea where I put them :tsk:

So here we are. This is everything that came in the box. As you can see, there is the fan, two probes, the remote, the power connection, the PID unit and an antenna. I placed a couple of quarters around for a size comparison.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0765.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0766.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0767.jpg

Now, I feel I should point out the following blemishes to be true and fair. On the main unit there were some slight scratches or abrasions. On the end you can see where a drill bit walked a bit as he was building the unit. On the remote, there are some tiny particles between the LED screen and the outer plastic. While these may look pretty bad in the photos, they really aren't a bother at all. Plus, you have to remember that this is a guy who does this as a hobby and the product you get is a reflection of that. In no way would I let these minor defects affect my recommendation for this product in any way.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0768.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0769.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0771.jpg

Here is a better look at the fan and the adapter. One oddity on the adapter is one of the bolts sticks up a bit but that is of little concern. There is also a photo looking in the end of the adapter. There is actually a little metal flap that opens when the fan runs and closes when it turns off. However, this only happens if the fan is pointing up with the pipe at the top. Obviously this would be an issue when connecting it directly to the ball valve of a UDS. However, during my test cook, I left the fan laying flat where the flap would not close and I did not have any major issues with excess air getting in when the fan turned off. I do, however, plan to change my setup to better take advantage of this flap.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0772.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0773.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0796.jpg

Here is the remote powered up. You can see that the particles are still visible but not that much of a distraction. It did not connect because the main unit was not powered up yet. You can adjust the backlight too.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0774.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0775.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0776.jpg

Here is a look at the probes. I was a little confused by them at first. One has threads and a nut which I assumed was the pit probe. The other probe, however, is actually larger in diameter. Both have blunt ends which is also a bit different. The "meat" probe does have silicone filling the end but I might cover that with heat shrink tubing just to be extra careful.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0777.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0778.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0792.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0793.jpg

Now, one thing to remember is that this requires a 12v power source. You can use a car battery or even a smaller rechargeable battery but I didn't have one handy. Luckily I did have an adjustable power converter which put out 12v so that is what I used to power it up. One note about this and I will update when I get a chance to try this with a battery. When the fan is blowing at its max speed, the low battery light flashes and the warning beeps. This can get a little annoying.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0780.jpg

Here are some pics of it powered up and running. This was in my kitchen so I set the temps low to do some testing.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0781.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0782.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0783.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0784.jpg

Here are some images of the remote in the act of setting the programming sets.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0785.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0788.jpg

And here is an overall photo of the whole setup connected and running.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-17byEye-Fi/IMG_0786.jpg

So, on Saturday I decided to run up to Lowe's to get a few things to make a compartment for all of this stuff. I picked up some little plastic shoe boxes, some pipe elbows and a 6ft hose with rubber adapters. This is designed to connect a dishwasher to a disposal but works perfectly for my application. Sorry for the horrible cell phone photos in this group as my camera battery was dead.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/IMAG0884.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/IMAG0885.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/IMAG0887.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/IMAG0889.jpg

On Sunday, I decided to cook some ribs as a test run. Originally I really wanted to test this with a long cook of a butt or brisket but that will have to wait. So, here is everything packed in the box. this worked alright but I plan to change my setup soon as I did not really like how it all was crammed in there and the flap for the fan was not able to function correctly.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0804.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0805.jpg

When it came time to put in the probes I was quickly reminded that I did not think it all through. The meat probe fit through the whole I had already drilled in the drum for my Maverick probes but I failed to think about how I would hold it on the grate. I used to have a wood block but I couldn't find it so I just winged it and let the probe rest on the grate with the tip over an open area. Unfortunately, the pit probe did not fit through the hole. Without major work, I decided to remove the brass air line coupling that I normally have in place to hold my Walmart turkey fryer thermometers. The hole was big enough to insert the probe and I used the nut on the inside to hold it in place. Since I was cooking ribs, I didn't care so much about the meat temp so I left both probes to monitor the pit temps. I used the meat probe that was lying on the rack as the pit temp probe for this cook as it was closer to the ribs and I was not using a diffuser. I ran the hose from the blower down to one of the intakes on the UDS that is normally capped.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0806.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0807.jpg
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0808.jpg

Here is everything as it sat while the drum came up to temp. As you can see, this is quite bulky in this setup and that is another reason I plan to change the housings for the controller and blower.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0809.jpg

As I mentioned before, I put the controller in Manual mode and let it run at full until the UDS reached 200*. Then I switched it to Auto mode with the target pit temp at 250*.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0810.jpg

Here is the remote showing the temps, the program mode and the duration left. Since I was only cooking at a single temp the duration was set at 500 minutes.
http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0811.jpg

Now for the fantastic pr0n :becky: Sadly this is all I have :tsk: Right after I put the ribs on I got a call from my father inviting me over to his house for a last minute get together for my step-sister's birthday. I did not get a chance to get any in-progress photos and as soon as the ribs were done they came off and were wrapped for a rest and transport to my dad's. I can tell you that there were a hit even with that Foil Hat Rub that I used. I guess I will have to try that stuff again. The worst part is I only at 1 rib from the rack as a single rack goes quite fast in a room full of 7 people. On the bright side, everyone loved them so that is always nice too.

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0812.jpg


Overall, I am very pleased with this product. Granted, as I showed, there are some blemishes but no more than I will give it during its use. Everything worked as it was supposed to and even with the language barrier and the somewhat difficult to understand manual, I was up and running in no time. Now, there is still the obvious question as to its long term quality and reliability. I guess I will just have to cook more :thumb: To those that wonder why I needed a controller for a UDS, and I know someone will ask, the answer is I don't. I don't plan on using it for every cook as most of the time the UDS does just fine on its own. I do plan on using when I have all day or all night cooks. It will be nice to have that piece of mind knowing that it is taking care of the cooker and keeping it at the temp I want. Besides, it is such a cool little toy anyway.

colonel00
02-21-2012, 07:49 PM
One more pr0n tease I just found :becky:

http://i1119.photobucket.com/albums/k631/colonel00/2012-02-19byEye-Fi/IMG_0813.jpg

caliking
02-21-2012, 08:27 PM
Now that looks really cool! I love the remote (lazy arse mod?). And one can never have enough toys... Can you post a link to the vendor (if mods permit)?

colonel00
02-21-2012, 08:30 PM
Here is the seller's vendor forum.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=95

Here is the Ebay listing.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Charcoal-Burning-BBQ-Grill-Smoker-Pit-Temperature-Controller-600-Remote-WIFI-/140654979876?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_2&hash=item20bfb0ab24

Now that looks really cool! I love the remote (lazy arse mod?). And one can never have enough toys...

I can say that one of the best features is that you don't have to have the remote on all the time like you do with a Maverick remote thermometer. You can just turn it on, check what you want, make a change if you so choose and then turn it off. Also, I know it powers down by itself if the connection is lost or off and I believe it also powers off after a period even if there is a connection. I will have to test this further but it is a nice battery saving option.

devious
02-22-2012, 08:16 AM
Thanks for the review. does the fan stir up the ash and blow it around the UDS?

AlanTX
02-22-2012, 08:34 AM
I'm curious about the temp. differences when you had it laid out on the counter, shouldn't they be the same?

Warthog
02-22-2012, 08:55 AM
I would suggest he consider having the meat probe end in a point. Easier to enter the meat and also easier to recognize compared to the pit probe.

colonel00
02-22-2012, 09:00 AM
Thanks for the review. does the fan stir up the ash and blow it around the UDS?

I did not notice any issues. Even at full speed, the air flow isn't that excessive. Granted, with the UDS running it is difficult to see all the way down to the bottom through the smoke but I definitely did not notice flying ash up by the meat when I opened the lid. I will monitor this more and let you know.

I'm curious about the temp. differences when you had it laid out on the counter, shouldn't they be the same?

Good catch :thumb: The differences are due to how I was running tests. I had the fan blowing on the ends of the probes which cooled them down. Then I would pick one up and hold it tightly to warm it up. This is how I was simulating a heat increase on the pit or meat probes so I could see how it all functioned. During the cook, the temps were different as well but that was more due to the placement of the probes in the cooker. When I first turned it on, the probes were within 2 degrees of each other probably because of where they were sitting and my handling of them. As the cook progressed, the difference grew but I don't think it was ever more than 25* difference. Based on the placement in the UDS where one probe was sitting directly over the heat (no diffuser) on the grate and the other was 6" higher and 6" from the drum wall towards the front, I can accept the difference in temps.

colonel00
02-22-2012, 09:01 AM
I would suggest he consider having the meat probe end in a point. Easier to enter the meat and also easier to recognize compared to the pit probe.

I agree with you. The large, blunt tip will be fine for large cuts like butts and briskets but if I wanted to monitor the temps in thighs, this probe would create a gaping hole.

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 09:10 AM
I am the designer, manufacturer and seller of this kit. My name is Zhaohui Wang and I am in Beijing, China
As my English is poor, if anyone buys on eBay, please post here and ask any question here.
I hope all old buyers can help each others. Anyway we are BBQ brethren.

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 09:12 AM
If you have a small pit, if the fan is too strong to stir ash, you can tune down the fan speed. Just input a data to limit maximum fan speed in percentage, say 30% of rated speed.

hamiltont
02-22-2012, 10:08 AM
I am the designer, manufacturer and seller of this kit. My name is Zhaohui Wang and I am in Beijing, China
As my English is poor, if anyone buys on eBay, please post here and ask any question here.
I hope all old buyers can help each others. Anyway we are BBQ brethren.

I see a lot of prices for various components on the ebay listing. What is the cost for the configuration Colonel00 has presented here? Cheers!!!

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 10:27 AM
I see a lot of prices for various components on the ebay listing. What is the cost for the configuration Colonel00 has presented here? Cheers!!!
Tiger, FAN, Adapter C US$198
Air and land mail US$30
total US$228.
But TIGER is not available now. When I get 10 orders, I will make it again.

You can also buy Basic model WOLF, fan, adapter C US$138
Air and Land mail cos US$30
total US$168
or
WIFI model LION, FAN, Adapter C US$208
Air and land mail US$30
total US$238.

halfasian
02-22-2012, 11:28 AM
Been looking at these. Great write up. Headed over to the ebay link provided to check it out again. I like how he used all of your pics!

---k---
02-22-2012, 04:15 PM
Thanks for the great review. I've seen it before and wasn't willing to take a chance on an unknown product with other good product out there. But, this has given me second thoughts.

I would be very interested in knowing what the range of the remote is - especially with transmitting to partially below-grade basements and such.

And, just because I'm a geek, I would love to see a graph of the pit temps as it is coming up to temp. I have these for my Pitmaster iQ. I was shocked when I did it a third time (with different charcoals each time) the graphs were almost exactly the same each time. It was interesting to see how it stepped the temp.

I might be in the market for a second controller later this summer, so please keep us updated as to any reliability issues or such.

colonel00
02-22-2012, 05:49 PM
Thanks for the great review. I've seen it before and wasn't willing to take a chance on an unknown product with other good product out there. But, this has given me second thoughts.

I would be very interested in knowing what the range of the remote is - especially with transmitting to partially below-grade basements and such.

And, just because I'm a geek, I would love to see a graph of the pit temps as it is coming up to temp. I have these for my Pitmaster iQ. I was shocked when I did it a third time (with different charcoals each time) the graphs were almost exactly the same each time. It was interesting to see how it stepped the temp.

I might be in the market for a second controller later this summer, so please keep us updated as to any reliability issues or such.

As far as the range, I did not get a chance to truly test it but I can say that with the UDS running in my driveway, I never had issues with the remote connecting anywhere in the house. On my next cook with the controller I will see how far I can go.

I believe the seller did say that graphing will be in the next release of the software for the wifi model. At least he knows there is interest in this feature and I would think it will be added soon enough. For my model, graphing isn't an option.

I will definitely keep this thread up to date and I will try to be a little more statistical in the next cooks by logging times and temps. A buddy wants me to cook some butts this weekend so I might set it up for a good old fashioned low and slow cook as I now usually cook much hotter (better things to do with my time mod ).

---k---
02-22-2012, 06:46 PM
Oh missunderstanding. Graphing isn't really a feature I'm looking for. It isn't that important after you see the graph once. I made a graph for my Pitmaster iQ manually. I just sat next to the smoke and logged the temp every five minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes to 30 minutes for two hours until the small load of charcoal ran out. The interesting/geek part is the heat gain curve was the same when I repeated the test with lump, KB, and RO briq. I'm just wondering what his program is for heat gain, if it initially overshoots, etc... like I said, geek.

colonel00
02-22-2012, 07:40 PM
Ah, I see what you are saying. Yeah, that is something I want to do as well at least for a couple of cooks. The one thing I would be interested in as far as a graphical log would actually be the run times and intensity of the fan during the cook in correlation to the pit temps.

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 07:53 PM
Effective distance is 600 feet in open air.
TO draw a graph you need only to sit at your reading room, turn on your air conditioning, look at the display set. You do not need to sit beside your smoker under wind, rain, snow, sun burning. But a graph does less help. In my Stumps type smoker, temperature fluctuation is + - 1 F.
But a graph of time vs voltage output and temperature may help you to fine tune P.I.D. parameters

Mark M
02-22-2012, 08:39 PM
I'm impressed with the features. Woodpelletsmoker, have you considered offering AC power instead of battery?

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 10:12 PM
I'm impressed with the features. Woodpelletsmoker, have you considered offering AC power instead of battery?
I think the adapter is deadly cheaper.
Output:12VAC, 1.5 A
Again I prefer a battery. Battery is much safer than 110V AC.
Just image your smoker is at your backyard without cover. Rain suddenly comes,
110V AC must be dangerous. 12VDC will create no risk, at worst you destroy your battery.

In a few weeks we will develop a controller for pellet smoker, which must use 110VAC power. You can use it to control a charcoal smoker too by using 110VAC fan. We have a very nice 110VAC fan.

colonel00
02-22-2012, 10:21 PM
I'm impressed with the features. Woodpelletsmoker, have you considered offering AC power instead of battery?

I have to agree with the seller's comments above as well. While I did run this test with an adapter, I do like the flexibility of using a 12v battery. You can pick up an adapter pretty cheap and then you have the best of both worlds. I plan on getting something similar to this to use as a normal power source. It should do fine. $28 bucks for a battery and a charger isn't bad at all. Granted, it does not say what the output of the charger is so it may not work as an adapter but all you need to do is connect the charger after every cook and you should always have enough power.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Cabelas-Rechargeable-12-Volt-Battery/700551.uts

woodpelletsmoker
02-22-2012, 10:30 PM
I have to agree with the seller's comments above as well. While I did run this test with an adapter, I do like the flexibility of using a 12v battery. You can pick up an adapter pretty cheap and then you have the best of both worlds. I plan on getting something similar to this to use as a normal power source. It should do fine. $28 bucks for a battery and a charger isn't bad at all. Granted, it does not say what the output of the charger is so it may not work as an adapter but all you need to do is connect the charger after every cook and you should always have enough power.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Cabelas-Rechargeable-12-Volt-Battery/700551.uts
I was using a 4 AH gel battery, it was just half size of this one.
This must be a lead battery
But now I am using LI metal battery. The size is 4 pieces of #5 cell battery.
Much smaller and lighter

Mark M
02-23-2012, 02:45 AM
I think the adapter is deadly cheaper.
Output:12VAC, 1.5 A
Again I prefer a battery. Battery is much safer than 110V AC.
Just image your smoker is at your backyard without cover. Rain suddenly comes,
110V AC must be dangerous. 12VDC will create no risk, at worst you destroy your battery.

In a few weeks we will develop a controller for pellet smoker, which must use 110VAC power. You can use it to control a charcoal smoker too by using 110VAC fan. We have a very nice 110VAC fan.

Thanks for the info. But I've never really had any electric/electronic device that I preferred DC over AC, unless AC just wasn't available. Regarding your comment about rain, I don't have to worry about that because "it never rains in southern California" (just kidding). Good luck and I hope you sell a million of your controllers. I'll consider your product the next time I need one.

Triple T BBQ
02-23-2012, 08:56 PM
Hoping mine shows up in the mail tomorrow.

MattG
02-23-2012, 09:28 PM
very nice review. Thanks for shareing.

woodpelletsmoker
02-26-2012, 06:09 PM
Yesterday, 01:46 PM #3
Flat_Rate
Got Wood.

Join Date: 05-08-11
Location: Charlotte, NC
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0

I just ordered one of these based on this review, looking forward to playing around with it.
__________________
UDS version 1.0, UDS version 2.0, Smokey Joe w/ tamale pot mod

Yesterday, 03:15 PM #4
cabledawg007
Wandering around with a bag of matchlight, looking for a match.

Join Date: 02-16-12
Location: San Jose,CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0

I got one last week too. I got the Tiger unit, can't wait to play with it.

Chef Jim
02-26-2012, 07:33 PM
I only have one problem with this unit. Where its made. But that's just me.

woodpelletsmoker
02-27-2012, 12:36 AM
I only have one problem with this unit. Where its made. But that's just me.
I am a chinese in Beijing,China.

woodpelletsmoker
02-27-2012, 12:37 AM
OK, if you prefer AC over DC, in next delivery I will sell AC/DC adapter too

Chef Jim
02-27-2012, 09:42 AM
I am a chinese in Beijing,China.


Sir, I know that. Your product looks very good and I am glad that you had the sprite to make it. My statement was not to degrade your product in any way. I hope you sell millions and become very rich.

If I have insulted you in any way please accept my sincere apology.

Here in America we are in a bad economic time and there are many other similar products that are made right here in America. I choose to purchase American made products whenever I am able. This helps our economy.

woodpelletsmoker
02-27-2012, 10:04 AM
It is a too big issue about patriotism, economy, country, politics.
We really can not tell what is right or wrong.
Today is right, tomorrow may be wrong.
If I stolen money from American, I would have been put in prison.
But officially we China import chicken, pork, bean, wheat from American at lower price.
I can just take "lower price" as we pay regular price for 90% of goods, and we stole the other 10%. This "stole" is legally, and it is arranged by two governments.

DeepSeaCowboy
11-12-2012, 02:38 PM
A quick bump of this thread with another user's perspective. I purchased the Golden Lion (wifi model) a few months ago and have used it 5 or 6 times now on my UDS.

In general, it achieves what i want. If I leave the pit alone and don't open it or mess with the air intakes, this gets the charcoal to the set temperature within 15 or 20 minutes and holds the pit there for as long as my battery holds out (right now I have two batteries that I swap out and charge as I smoke. I am working on stringing them together or getting a new one). It is fairly easy to use and when I checked the probe settings in boiling water they were both within a few degrees of where they should be, altitude adjusted.

My only major complaint would be that the stainless steel enclosure is a touch too small and can't fit the controller with the wifi antenna. I have to remove it to fit it all in and seal it up. I suspect he may have built it without considering the wifi antenna.

I haven't hooked into the wifi yet but will as the snow begins to fall.

Overall this is a great unit for the price. I am relatively electronics/computer capable so it may not be as good an experience for someone who isn't as comfortable. I will try and post pics this weekend.

woodpelletsmoker
11-12-2012, 06:10 PM
I am using a 2 A.H Li-Ion battery. Let antenna go out through holes on the bottom.
Then the SS box is good to hold all in. I monitor from my note book
But if you use a bigger Lead battery, this SS box is not big enough.

For your information, I just make a new arrangement.
Put controller, battery or AC/DC adapter, fan inside a plastic box, a 1"x 3' corrugated pipe connects box and smoker.
It is ready, I will take picture in 2 days

NZDaz
11-12-2012, 10:37 PM
Put controller, battery or AC/DC adapter, fan inside a plastic box, a 1"x 3' corrugated pipe connects box and smoker.
It is ready, I will take picture in 2 days

This is the setup u have ordered. Will add pics etc when it arrives

:mmph: