PDA

View Full Version : What's your favorite Texas BBQ association?

Uncle Willy
02-19-2012, 07:01 PM
Hi all I'm new to the forums and wanted to take the opportunity to introduce myself as well as post a question. I've been cooking bbq for about 6 years and like most backyarders have been told my bbq is "pretty good". So I'm gathering my supplies and plan to enter a few contests this year. I want to hear from all you guys who compete in Texas what your favorite BBQ association is and why. Also what are some of the big contests in Texas?

Candy Sue
02-20-2012, 09:12 AM
IBCA -- I'm a member of the SW Arkansas Pit and have competed in MS, LA, AR and TX of course. Even made it to Trader's Village several years ago. I like IBCA rules and especially the length of time between turn ins. I do get quite a bit of ragging 'cause of my role at KCBS, but I was RGC at an IBCA contest last year. Haven't been able to do squat at KCBS contests since I got on the board!

U2CANQUE
02-20-2012, 09:35 AM
I have cooked IBCA, Lonestar BBQ Society and Gulf Coast BBQ Society.....I had a lot of fun with each one, but, everyone with Lonestar BBQ Society welcomed me in and treated me well.....was disappointed that I could not go back this year to Austin

U2CANQUE
02-20-2012, 09:36 AM
IBCA -- I'm a member of the SW Arkansas Pit and have competed in MS, LA, AR and TX of course. Even made it to Trader's Village several years ago. I like IBCA rules and especially the length of time between turn ins. I do get quite a bit of ragging 'cause of my role at KCBS, but I was RGC at an IBCA contest last year. Haven't been able to do squat at KCBS contests since I got on the board!

Candy, are you sure that it was not because of the tumor on the back of your Jambo?:becky:

Candy Sue
02-20-2012, 11:43 AM
The tumor was there at the IBCA contest too! It's only come off for IQue in North Little Rock couple of years back. I may have cooked stick wood in Hammond that year, but I can't remember that far back.